Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2013, 08:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


Hello, I have a Weather King model 24AHJ21S04c01 that is blowing out cold air. How can I be sure that the heating elements are to blame?
Attached Thumbnails
Weather King electric furnace not heating.-image.jpg  

AlfredoV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:01 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


Another pic
Attached Thumbnails
Weather King electric furnace not heating.-image.jpg  

AlfredoV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:02 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


Actual cover
Attached Thumbnails
Weather King electric furnace not heating.-image.jpg  
AlfredoV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:27 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,531
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


Turn off power. Ohm out the elements.

Could be the high limit is stuck open.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


Already did previously, I don't remember the exact # but I got 5 ohms I believe.. They were all the same except for one, the ohms were lower on that one. Does that sound right?

Last edited by AlfredoV; 01-16-2013 at 09:41 PM.
AlfredoV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:12 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,531
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


Depends on what the KW rating is on them.
5KW 11ohms
4KW 14ohms
3KW 19ohms
2KW 28ohms
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:13 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,531
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


Check to see if you read 240 volts at each element.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:14 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredoV View Post
Another pic

I would honesly look more at limits and sequencers than elements. Not saying you couldn't have elements out, but in order to make a huge difference you need multiple elements out, it's always more likely you have one part taking out multiple elements than multiple bad elements.

If you look at the above picture there are 6 colored circles in a U shape on the left side of the picture. Those are limits which control idividual elements. Again as those only turn off one at a time I wouldn't think they would be your issue. To the left of those limits (sort of in the middle of the U) is a smaller black circle, that is also a limit. According to the above schematic it appears to shut off control voltage to 3 elements. With the furnace on check across that limit (leads on each side of the limit) if you read 24v your limit is stuck open which will cause 3 elements to not come on.

If that reads no voltage next I would check your sequencers. They are the to black switches just to the right of the U. They turn on 3 elements each, so one going bad can greatly affect the heat being put out by your furnace. There are 6 bigger wires hooking from the elements to the breakers then there are 2 control wires going in the bottom. Check across the 2 control terminals if you read 24v check across the high voltage terminals, if they read 240v the sequencers aren't turning on the elements.
JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:13 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


First I want to say thank you very much for your time and knowledge. I've checked the ohms at each element. Starting from the left all are showing 19ohms and the last one one the right shows only 8ohms. If I disconnect the orange cable to its limiter (orange all the way to the right)and check the ohms then, it does show the 19ohms that it should be.

Also when checking the black limit in the middle with the heater on, it shows 25v.
Attached Thumbnails
Weather King electric furnace not heating.-image.jpg  
AlfredoV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:49 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,531
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


If your reading 25 volts across that limit, then its open. And is keeping the heat off.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 09:37 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


Quote:
Originally Posted by AlfredoV View Post
First I want to say thank you very much for your time and knowledge. I've checked the ohms at each element. Starting from the left all are showing 19ohms and the last one one the right shows only 8ohms. If I disconnect the orange cable to its limiter (orange all the way to the right)and check the ohms then, it does show the 19ohms that it should be.

Also when checking the black limit in the middle with the heater on, it shows 25v.
Yep as the guy above me said that indicates that limit is open. That limit cuts power to one of your sequencers which won't allow 3 of your 6 elements to come on. That limit shouldn't be hard to find & even easier to change.
JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:54 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Weather King electric furnace not heating.


Great news! So I jumped the limits thinking if that was the case the elements would work. No luck.. So I disconnected the sequencer that was working and reconnected it to the side that wasn't coming on and viola! That side worked... Sooooo..... I went thru the schematic and reconnected everything, everything was good until I got to the thermostat. At the heater the thermostat was wired for single stage and the ends upstairs at the thermostat were just tucked into the wall.. So I connected the w/b, w/b & wires together and now all the elements are coming on and heating. I sure am glad that we figured this out because my recent electric bill came to the tune of $535!!!

So thank you very much for your time and knowledge it seems this problem is solved! Btw.. The house was renovated last year and apperantly the HVAC contractor is a moron.

AlfredoV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Electric furnace won't stop running! knchat HVAC 3 12-28-2011 08:38 AM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Upgrades for my old electric furnace? alochin HVAC 6 09-11-2011 06:09 PM
Electrical Service Required for an Electric furnace brokenhammer Electrical 8 01-11-2010 11:02 AM
electric furnace need help Unregistered HVAC 3 10-16-2007 02:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.