Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2009, 08:57 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Share |
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


I noticed in my new house there is a water line going to the furnace. It's a regular copper pipe, then a smaller line that looks like a AC line goes to the furnace from that pipe. What would this be used for? Do I have some kind of cold water based AC in there or something? :P

I did notice my thermostat has a "cool" option, but I know as a fact there is no central air so I doubt that option actually does anything at this point.

Do some furnaces use water for self cleaning or something?

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:05 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


Two lines? 1 fat line and a much smaller line?

V Moe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


Do the go out side to ac unit? If so this is your central air unit
V Moe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:09 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


Where Do the lines go or connect to? Most likely they went to an ac unit
V Moe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:56 PM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


I will need to check better next time I go there, but it appears to be a single line, and it does come from an actual water line as that same line is connecting to other stuff like faucets upstairs etc. There is no AC unit, but the small line that branches off the normal water line looks exactly like that of an AC unit. It hooks up on the top level of the furnace to some metal/copper box that is about the size of a small brick (only see the face, it does not stick out).

I've seen industrial units that use continuous water for cooling of internal components but I doubt this is what it is, never seen it on a residential unit.

There is also a plastic pvc for water refuse but that's common on all furnaces I've seen.

It will probably be better if I get a picture though. I'll try to get one tomorrow.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:09 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


ok was think ac unit was there but was removed not suere what it is
V Moe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:27 PM   #7
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


Yeah could be, or they tried to jerry rig something with the cold water line to make AC lol.

The intake of that furnace is also interestingly layed out. There is a normal vent in the basement acting as intake, then there are two intakes upstairs. I'm guessing this is fairly good for air circulation compared to just one intake though. I'm even debating on making the downstairs intake bigger so I can bring the cold air upstairs during summer. Cheap AC.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 06:45 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


It is a humidifier water line the box like thing is a humidifier.

When the heater is on it sends moisture up to the rooms from the ductwork.
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:51 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


RS, don't mess with the "INTAKE" size without more info. Air returns are meant to be balanced based on dimension, furnace and duct size as well as age and insulation level of the house. I'm trying to tweak mine now. You want to post info under HVAC before you enlarge or modify any ducting or intakes
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:26 AM   #10
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SULTINI View Post
It is a humidifier water line the box like thing is a humidifier.

When the heater is on it sends moisture up to the rooms from the ductwork.
Interesting, any reason why they'd do this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chemist1961 View Post
RS, don't mess with the "INTAKE" size without more info. Air returns are meant to be balanced based on dimension, furnace and duct size as well as age and insulation level of the house. I'm trying to tweak mine now. You want to post info under HVAC before you enlarge or modify any ducting or intakes
Yeah for sure, I'll post details if I do decide to mess with it. I'm guessing the total square inch of intake venting needs to always remain the same, but there's probably more to it then that as well.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:31 AM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,983
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


Post some pics of it then we can tell you what it is.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 06:24 PM   #12
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


This is it here. Was told by someone who saw it that it is in fact of humifier, and that normally these things stop working, so it probably does not work. Something I can always remove later on.

http://gal.redsquirrel.me/images/hou...ations_043.jpg
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:14 PM   #13
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,983
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


Thats an antique/obsolete plate type humidifier. Scrap metal now.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:18 PM   #14
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


Ah I see. That's a new furnace too, guess the installers just shoved it back in LOL. That part looks very old but the furnace is a few years only. Should I just leave it as is?
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:06 PM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,983
Default

Water pipe going to my furnace?


I would pop the front cover off it and look inside it. If the old plates are inside then remove them as they could fall out and down into your blower and damage it.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
loud jackhammer-like noise from hot water pipe omar Plumbing 15 01-08-2012 01:53 PM
Amp meter Results - SE Cable Bad or Power CO jamiedolan Electrical 30 01-23-2009 12:16 AM
Low Hot Water Pressure btennant Plumbing 4 12-09-2008 09:31 PM
supplemental ground to water pipe and gas philS Electrical 18 02-13-2008 08:28 PM
Water in my furnace? Jonboat HVAC 7 06-22-2006 01:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.