W/O Heat - Armstrong Air Ultra 5 Tech 80 - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2013, 08:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

W/O Heat - Armstrong Air Ultra 5 Tech 80


Hello,

I'm currently in the process of converting my attic to an extra bedroom. In the process of moving the furnace, we kinked one of the copper A/C lines and believe there'd be a leak. We plan on replacing the 3/8 & 3/4 lines in a couple of days, but we'd like to hook the furnace back up tonight so we could have access to heat again. With that being said, is it viable to just hookup the furnace without having the two A/C copper lines plugged back in?

Advertisement

dp24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:41 PM   #2
HOTDAWG
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 75
Blog Entries: 1
Default

W/O Heat - Armstrong Air Ultra 5 Tech 80


You can hook up the furnace, I would shut the breaker off for the AC though to ensure that it can't be kicked on accidentally otherwise it will cause damage to the compressor

Advertisement

__________________
Affordable Comfort, assisting with furnaces Barrie and surrounding area, as well as offering 24 hour furnace repair
Acomfort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 08:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,645
Rewards Points: 2,604
Default

W/O Heat - Armstrong Air Ultra 5 Tech 80


Quote:
Originally Posted by dp24 View Post
Hello,

I'm currently in the process of converting my attic to an extra bedroom. In the process of moving the furnace, we kinked one of the copper A/C lines and believe there'd be a leak. We plan on replacing the 3/8 & 3/4 lines in a couple of days, but we'd like to hook the furnace back up tonight so we could have access to heat again. With that being said, is it viable to just hookup the furnace without having the two A/C copper lines plugged back in?
1 st yes you can hook up furnace....but make sure your not leaking freon at the kink in the line..that would be very dangerous.....ben sr......picture would help..
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 09:11 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

W/O Heat - Armstrong Air Ultra 5 Tech 80


When we moved the furnace, we broke the line and all the air pressure leaked out for approximately 2 minutes. (But no liquid came out.)
dp24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 09:37 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

W/O Heat - Armstrong Air Ultra 5 Tech 80


well dont tell the refrigerant police....lol
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to carmon For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (12-30-2013)
Old 12-29-2013, 09:38 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

W/O Heat - Armstrong Air Ultra 5 Tech 80


Thanks for the prompt replies

Advertisement

dp24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Armstrong Air Ultra V Tech 80 problem... wont stay on :( Kassy HVAC 12 11-10-2012 07:09 PM
Armstrong ULTRA 5 TECH 80, Model No. 45647-001 BTUs? _scott HVAC 3 03-26-2011 11:35 PM
uneven heat: testing ceiling radiant heat /finding cables/fix cables martinradiant Electrical 1 10-03-2010 09:22 PM
How to test apartment Heat Pump tbrubes HVAC 7 02-04-2009 04:05 PM
armstrong air ultra v tech 80 furnace model C2E24A-1A Iowachick HVAC 1 11-29-2008 07:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts