Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2010, 04:02 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


I have 2 questions listed below in detail. Following the descrition of my 2 dilemmas I listed my heat pump information & my complete VisionPRO function setup menu settings for reference at the end of the post.

One question is on the setup fuctions in the VisionPRO in reference to the CHP. A very knowledgeable member going by the name "beenthere" gave me some excellent information so I could install & setup the VisionPRO properly. He also added a possible tweak/change to one of the CHP settings if needed. Upon reveiwing my notes from that chat I find myself unsure as to exactly which function number to adjust, a fewof them refer to the CHP. Excuse my ignorance I come from the land of boilers for heat & no central AC. Heat pumps are a newer animal.

The other question is on the very excessive KWH usage since installing the VisionPRO vs. last year with the old Honeywell t-stat. I must have a setting wrong. Heat strips running alot more in the cold than they did with the old thermostat. Up 1200 kwh compared with same tempeture range last year.

Details for my 1st dilemma:
My KWH are way, way up as compared to last year, during temperatures ranging in the same area as noted below. This temperature and usage information was retrieved from my electric bills. Both the old and the new thermostats were left set to a constant 68 degrees in the winter months with no setbacks.
Jan 2009--------------------------average temp 32 degrees------------------1811 KWH----(old t-stat)
Feb 2009-------------------------average temp 22 degrees-------------------2001 KWH----(old t-stat)
March 2009----------------------average temp 34 degrees-------------------1731 KWH----(old t-stat)
Dec 2009-------------------------average temp 45 degrees-------------------1063 KWH----(new t-stat)
Jan 2010--------------------------average temp 28 degrees-------------------3208 KWH----(new t-stat)
Up 1200 KWH for Jan 2010 (with new t-stat) as compared to Feb 2009 (with old t-stat).
I have not had any lifestyle changes or added any new toys, appliances etc. to the home (I wish). I do notice the heat strips coming on much more often. Last year I noticed the cooler (78 degree) air blowing much more often. Now regularly the air is warmer (105 degree) air blowing. Although this is nicer, reminds you of the days of owning a gas furnace, its way to expensive to continue. I have no problem with dressing inside like its winter time, I do not need to be able to wear a tee shirt inside in January to be happy. Not when it causes my heat bill to go up $100.00+ per month
Do I have one of the installer menus set up incorrectly? Have I made a mistake that is letting the heat strips fire up so often? On the warmer days ( 45 -50 degrees) I don’t find the heat strips engaging often.
I know I can install the outdoor sensor, but isn’t that only going to help on the warmer days to stop the heat strips from firing up? With the old Honeywell thermostat they hardly ever seemed to fire up, many times it was very cold out and they still had not kicked in, although you could make them by raising the thermostat.

Details for my 2nd dilemma:
I have a question on a previous post of mine. I originally asked for help programming the setup functions on the VisionPRO. A really knowledgeable member named “beenthere” stepped in and answered my questions while passing on some great insight & a few good one liners that gave me a laugh, nice touch. I was smart enough to keep a copy of the chat with my heating paperwork for future reference. Now as I review and reread the chat I have a bit of confusion. To refresh the chat went as follows:
infoskr:
Looking @ setup function 0240 1st stage CPH, 0250 2nd stage CPH, 0270 emergency heat CPH it looks like Honeywell is prompting me to set these all to 9 CPH. Is this a bit high?
beenthere:
Yea, 9 is way out of line. I generally set cycle rates to 3 for compressor, aux heat and emergency heat. Sometimes, I’ll set the aux to 2, if I want the aux heat to satisfy the heat call and not run the compressor 24/7 when the outdoor temp is below balance point.
Well this is where I am confused . The above refers to which setup function. I thinking 0250 but I am not sure. Note the functions in blue font on the next page get skipped thru by the thermostat when I go in to review the setup functions menu.
Could you please clarify the above setup function question a bit further so I could utilize the tip.

 
SYSTEM INFORMATION
Honeywell VisionPro 800 Series Model TH8320U1008-------------(installed 11-30-09)
Rheem Heat Pump (2 heat/1 cool)---------------------------------------Last maintenance/service 09-30-09
Compressor: Rheem# RPKA-024JAZ
Air Handler: Rheem# RBHA-17J10SFAA
Climate/Location: Allentown, PA
Filters maintained on a monthly basis
Installer Setup
Honeywell Setup Functions Settings & Options
0160 Schedule format---------------------------------4 7 day programming
0170 System Type-------------------------------------7 2 heat/1 cool heat pump (with aux. heat)
0180 Fan control (heating)---------------------------1 Electric furnace (thermostat controls heating fan)
0190 Changeover valve (O/B terminal)------------1 O/B terminal controls valve in heating
0210 External fossil fuel kit-------------------Not set. Does not apply.
0220 1st stage compressor cycle rate----------------3 Recommended for most compressors
0230 2nd stage compressor cycle rate---------------3 Recommended for most compressors
0240 1st stage heat cycle rate-------------------------3 Hot water sys. & furnaces of 90%+ efficiency
0250 2nd stage heat cycle rate------------------------3 Hot water sys. & furnaces of 90%+ efficiency
0260 3rd stage heat cycle rate------------------Not set. Does not apply. (2h/1c unit)
0270 Emergency heat cycle rate---------------------3 Hot water sys. & furnaces of 90%+ efficiency
0280 Backlight-----------------------------------------0 Backlight on for approx. 8 sec. after keypress
0300 Manual/auto changeover-----------------------0 Manual changeover (Heat/Cool/Off)
0310 Daylight savings--------------------------------1 Auto changeover to daylight savings time.
0340 remote sensor------------------------------------0 No remote sensor
0350 Heat pump compressor lockout---------------0 No heat pump compressor lockout
0360 Heat pump auxiliary lockout------------------0 No heat pump auxiliary lockout
0380 Dehumidification control----------------------0 No dehumidification control
0500 Furnace filter change reminder---------------1 10 day runtime (about 1 month)
0510 Humidifier pad change reminder-------------0 Off
0520 UV lamp change reminder--------------------0 Off
0530 Adaptive Intelligent Recovery----------------1 On
0540 Program periods--------------------------------4 4 program periods
0580 Compressor protection-------------------------5 5 minute compressor off time
0600 Heat temp range stop----------------------Other 80 degrees
0610 Cool temp range stop----------------------Other 60 degrees
0640 Clock format-----------------------------------12 12-hour time
0650 Extended fan timer (heat)--------------------90 Fan runs for 90 sec after call for heat ends
0660 Extended fan timer (cool)--------------------90 Fan runs for 90 sec after call for cool ends
0670 Keypad lock ------------------------------------0 Keypad unlocked (fully functional)
0680 Heat temp control------------------------------2 Standard temp control (recommended)
0690 Cool temp control------------------------------2 Standard temp control (recommended)
0700 Temp display offset----------------------------0 Thermostat displays actual room temp
0710 RESET-------------------------------------------0 No reset
NOTE: Upon attempting to review all selections made in the setup functions menu I found that the thermostat is skipping viewing of functions 0230, 0240 & 0260.



infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 05:22 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


I'm gonna guess, that you accidentally skipped 200 when you made your post. And its set to "0" for electric aux heat.

Might want to change 680 to "1". That will help to hold out aux heat.

230 doesn't display because you don't have a seconds stage compressor.
240 doesn't display because its used for straight electric,gas or oil furnaces without a heat pump.
260 doesn't display because you don't have a 3 stages of heat.

Yes, I was talking about second stage heat cycle rate when I said to use 3 CPH.


The TH8320 is a comfort thermostat. So it doesn't let the temp vary as much as your old one did. And it probably had a wider temp difference before it allowed aux heat to come on.

I may have asked before. But, is the hole in the wall where the thermostat wires come through sealed. If it leaves cold air come in, the thermostat will run the heat more often. And go to aux quicker, and stay on longer.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 06:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


Hello beenthere!
Thank you for the reply.
Yes, you are correct I forgot to enter function 0200 in my post. Checked my notes and it is set to "0" Electric Backup Heat.
I will follow your intructions and try changing 0680 to "1" Choose If Room Is Warmer Than Set Temperature.
The hole in the wall where the t-sat wires comes through is definately sealed.
Is ther anything else I can do to hold off the heat strips from kicking in?

Last edited by infoskr; 01-15-2010 at 06:16 PM. Reason: spelling
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 06:19 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


No, not on that stat.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 06:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


So did I purchase the wrong T-stat for my system? Was there a better choice?

Last edited by infoskr; 01-15-2010 at 06:31 PM. Reason: spelling
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 06:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


I am finding on days with temps like we are having today in PA. The heat strips are not coming on but I am still going to follow your past advice and install the outdoor sensor. Should I then set function 0360 to" Other 40".
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 06:30 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


Yeah. You would want to lock it out at 40 or above.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 06:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


Did I make a mistake by putting this model t-stat on my old Rheem Heat Pump? Or any heat pump for that matter?
Is this model of t-stat better suited for a hot water baseboard system or such?
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 06:47 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


Its a good thermostat.
Its for comfort. And lacking a few things. The Vision Pro IAQ(YTH9421) is a much better thermostat.
It allows you to set much lower lock out temps for the aux heat. Down to 5°F.

And if you don't have an outdoor sensor. It still doesn't bring the aux heat on. Until it determines that the first stage heat, is operating at 90% of its ability to heat the house.

Unless you raise the set temp 2 or more degrees.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 07:49 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


I wish I would have spoken to you first before I made my purchase.
I will look into this t-stat. I can always sell the VisionPRO 8000 Series on Craigslist or something. If this other one will do the job better & save money on electric its worth it. I was expecting the 30% raise in my heat bill due to PA electric deregulation, but not the extra $120.00 for the heat strips.
Last year when we had a month with 22 deg. average temps my bill was $180 for the month.
This month with 28 average temps my bill was $343 for the month.
That t-stat could pay for itself in no time.

If I was to upgrade my heat pump would that t-stat do well for the new heat pumps out there?
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 08:08 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


Just took a look. Nice t-stat. At $198.00 its only about $65.00 more than the one I bought. I guess I did not do enough homework before I purchased this one, its a bit hard when you don't know your type heating system as well as you would like to.
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 08:19 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


The IAQ is a very good stat for newer high efficiency heat pumps.
Specially ones with VS blower.

On heat pumps with 2 stages of aux heat. The IAQ stages then in using the 90% of load determination.
So it doesn't bring in more then it needs to. So you get the most out of the heat pump.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 08:51 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


All this sounds great. (Looking on net for installation book on this t-stat as I type)
Here is my dilemma. Electrical wiring is not where I shine. Is this t-stat one that I would be able to install considering the module & everything else involved.
Otherwise I will need my HVAC service company to do it & my HVAC company is not going to install a t-stat that I buy. If I purchase from them I will pay list plus the install, which I understand. They are in business to make a profit. So if the install is beyond me then I may have to wait until I change my old Rheem heat pump out or work gets alot better.
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 09:05 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


OK lets see if I have this down.
After reviewing the installation manuals for the t-stat & modual on the IAQ it looks like you wire the modual just like the VisionPRO 8320 t-stat and then bring 3 wires from the modual up to the t-stat. Could it really be this simple?
infoskr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 09:13 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump


Its an intimidating stat(EIM) to install at first. Because of all the different things that can be controlled by it.

The EIM mounts near your air handler. Often on the return duct.
All the wires that are on your 8320, will connect to the same place(terminals) on the EIM.
Then. You just have to connect the same color wires to the 1,2 and 3 terminal on the EIM and the 1, 2, and 3 terminal on the thermostat.
Plus you have to hook up the outdoor sensor to its terminals on the EIM.
Turn power back on, and configure it.

Plus. No more clicking. All the relays are in the EIM, not the thermostat itself.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rheem Heat Pump & Honeywell VisionPRO infoskr HVAC 2 11-20-2013 05:08 PM
Help with heat pump!! mike85rob HVAC 2 12-02-2009 08:45 AM
Ductless Heat Pump for Garage?? brittlediabetic HVAC 25 04-23-2009 02:28 PM
Heat pump compressor shuts down bkent HVAC 1 04-20-2009 07:03 AM
Heat Pump vs Aux Electric Heat batolson HVAC 16 01-17-2009 10:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.