Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2006, 08:41 PM   #1
SnoBird
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: COLOMA, MICH
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


HELLO -- I want to install a new high efficency furnace in my ground floor condo (crawlspace below) Can the flue (exaust) pipe --vynil--pcv--or whatever you call it--be routed down about 4 ft to the crawlspace and then horizontaly about 12 ft to the outside? All of these I have seen have a blower in the exhaust system. I don't have access to the condo above.

Thanks for any help

SnoBird

SnoBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 05:12 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


There is a limit on how many bends (angles) and the length of the pipe. You would need to check with the manufacturer of the model that you may want to purchase.

Usually 3 right angles is the limit.

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 07:05 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


NO! vent pipe of any make up can never go DOWN............
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 06:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: grand rapids
Posts: 124
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


furnaces vented with pvc have to be sloped back to the unit because the exhaust is so humid it will condensate. the condensate has to run back to the furnace and out to a drain.there is a 80% furnace that can vent down to exhaust but this wont help you in your home.
trollmastergeneral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 08:59 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by trollmastergeneral View Post
furnaces vented with pvc have to be sloped back to the unit because the exhaust is so humid it will condensate. the condensate has to run back to the furnace and out to a drain.there is a 80% furnace that can vent down to exhaust but this wont help you in your home.

???????????????????? What one? please enlighten me.
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 10:00 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: grand rapids
Posts: 124
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


adp unit heaters specify that the exhaust be sloped down so any condesate runs out the exhaust.I believe that adp and reznor are made by same manufacture.You may be able to find that in reznor instruction manuals also.this is only on the power vent models. These units can be exhausted up but you must install a tee and a drain.
trollmastergeneral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 01:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


What happens to the HOT flue gasses that cant travel down, because the laws of physics tell us that hot air rises.?
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 01:36 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: grand rapids
Posts: 124
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


please note I did mention this is on a power vent model.ace do you disagree with this.I would be more than happy to post the adp instruction manuel on line for you.please correct me if I am wrong.I always want to give out correct information to help people.
trollmastergeneral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 03:34 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


I am not making a attempt to discount your statement. I would love to see the instalation instructions though. I have never seen a manufacture that pourposely dumped acidic condensate out of a downward slopped vent pipe.
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 05:41 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: grand rapids
Posts: 124
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


well ace no problem.being a holiday weekend I cant get it till next week.but Idefinetly will do that for you.
trollmastergeneral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 08:00 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


Is the www. shut down due to a holiday?
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 09:17 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,026
Default

Venting A High Efficency Furnace


Personally, I do not see no reason as to not being able to run the venting down, then across the joists to an outside spot. I would just check with the HVAC contractor to make sure that the unit can allow for the venting to happen downwards, due to most you see have the vent pipes running up & then out the side to a outdoor point.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Furnace venting questions Mastiff HVAC 9 12-05-2012 05:51 PM
New High Efficiency Furnace Problem Buster 567 HVAC 8 12-13-2010 08:36 PM
Options for venting 90+ furnace RM575 HVAC 2 06-17-2007 10:32 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.