Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-28-2008, 07:18 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 89
Default

Ventilation for fireplace insert


Maybe somebody could explain me the following. The manual to my new fireplace insert (Regency i2400M) states:
8) The insert consumes air while operating,
provide adequate ventilation with an air
duct or open a window while the insert is in
use.
If I open the window, wouldn't I lose the benefit of having the insert?

Thanks in advance.

dpreznik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 08:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 886
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ventilation for fireplace insert


Page 14 see #13 of your manual.

You need a combustion air source. I did not note any provisions on this unit that allow for exterior air supply duct for this purpose.

Fire requires O2.. Air 78% Nitrogen 21% O2 &1% others.

See if you can find where on the fire box your combustion air enters.

You could see if you can run a duct from the exterior of the house close to this location. Or unit will draw your heated air for combustion... This air will be replaced in the house through every tiny crack or hole you might have.

OR open a window as they suggest. yep not real efficient

Big Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 09:57 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Ventilation for fireplace insert


That combustion air is very important. If the unit doesn't breathe very well and is starved for combustion air, it will not burn as efficiently and can even produce more carbon monoxide in the combustion process.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 06:59 PM   #4
oops, did I do that!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Ventilation for fireplace insert


They make it pretty clear that you must compl with any local mechanical or building codes in your area. Call the mechanical inspector in the morning and ask him/her if a permit or fresh air is required.

You can do the work yourself, by pulling a homeowners permit, if its required, and it will give you some peace of mind.
8 Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
woodstove insert JAVAMAN General DIY Discussions 5 12-05-2007 08:00 PM
Roof/Attic Ventilation pramos67 Roofing/Siding 6 03-30-2007 12:27 PM
Gas Insert is too small for fireplace! manOfConstantSorrow HVAC 1 02-23-2006 06:07 PM
How can I insert a pic from computer boxer1-2 General DIY Discussions 1 08-05-2005 08:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.