Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-24-2010, 10:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

variable speed furnace


I just had a variable speed oil furance installed...the quietness was one of the selling points but when it is ramped up to the maximum speed it is anything but quiet. Does anybody know if the speed can be adjusted to make it quieter? I read somewhere in the literature it was factory set so don't know if this is possible or I just need to get used to it but I paid for quiet and it's not.

mjricemonica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 11:56 AM   #2
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

variable speed furnace


Call the installers back. It dosn't sound like they have the blower set up right. There could be many settings depending on what brand you bought.
The other problem could be that it is to big for your existing ductwork.

hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 12:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Default

variable speed furnace


Thanks HVAC 122...I just called my furnace installer and they will be back to adjust my fan. Thanks so much for your advice.
mjricemonica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 04:27 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,416
Default

variable speed furnace


Did they do a load clac. Or just install the same size furnace. So that your still now your duct work is too small for the air that the furnace needs to move.

VS blowers connected to under sized duct work. makes for a loud system.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 07:25 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Default

variable speed furnace


I'm hoping it's just an adjustment...what alternative do I have if the ductwork is too small for the system short of putting in new ductwork?
mjricemonica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 12:38 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,416
Default

variable speed furnace


Have them install the right size furnace.

Did they just install the same size as what was there?

They should have done a load calc.

While they can adjust the blower speed to make it quieter. That doesn't mean that the temp rise will be low enough to be safe for the furnace.

How hot is the air when it comes out of the registers now? And what is the temp of the air entering the return register?

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Honeywell minizone compatiability with variable speed furnace rucy HVAC 13 12-16-2009 11:13 AM
Variable speed Blower konqwest HVAC 4 12-01-2009 04:45 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.