Variable Speed Blower - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2009, 08:28 PM   #1
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Variable speed Blower

4 years ago, i purchased a Heil h9mpt075f14c Furnace. It is a 92% dual stage furnace.

I am looking to possible upgrade to a Variable speed blower, due to temperature variations throughout the home.

The issue I have is verifying if this is a possible upgrade option. While searching on the net, I have come across this info, from this file

Variable speed blower upgrade kit
(consists of motor, electronics and
wire harness for twostage furnaces

NAHL050VBB *9MPT050(C)
NAHL075VBB *9MPT075(C)

NAHL100VBB *9MPT100(C)
NAHL125VBB *9MPT125(C)
NAHA050VBE *8MPT050(B)
NAHA075VBE *8MPT075(B)
NAHA100VBE *8MPT100(B)

NAHA125VBE *8MPT125(B)

The contractor who Installed the furnace, says there is no upgrade kit, I have emails in to 2 other Retailers in my area, but no response yet. I was hoping a Forum like htis would result in someones Better understanding, If this is doable or not.



konqwest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 10:17 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
yuri's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 12,708
Rewards Points: 1,058

Variable speed Blower

It has to be "specifically" designed for the model of furnace or it won't work. The airflow cfm is critical or it will overheat/damage the heat exchanger etc and the electronics must be programmed specifically for each different BTU size of each furnace. If they don't understand it that is not good either.


yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:07 PM   #3
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,477
Rewards Points: 514

Variable speed Blower

I am a Arcoaire dealer and Arcoaire is an ICP product just as Heil is.

There is no upgrade kit and if there was it more than likely cost more than a new furnace. Just the VS motor can cost more than $750 and a control board, VS controler, and wiring harness.

If you truely want a VS then you may be wise to replace the furnace.
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 04:33 AM   #4
hvaclover's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000

Variable speed Blower

What he said.

Heil dealer here.
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 05:45 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 30,004
Rewards Points: 11,480

Variable speed Blower

Emerson has an upgrade kit for furnaces now. Works on any furnace.
Ask your contractor to check into it.

How ever. It may not give you the benefits you want. A VS motor can only do so much good on an undersized duct system.

As said earlier. Its not cheap. You may wish to have your duct and registers upgraded instead.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adjust blower speed? Model and pic inside. ls3c6 HVAC 10 07-07-2009 01:27 AM
variable speed blower satishprabhu HVAC 1 07-01-2009 12:32 PM
variable speed or single speed air handler bchlady HVAC 2 06-05-2008 09:40 PM
Variable Speed Blower qnzkrew HVAC 2 01-03-2008 07:14 AM
Heat Pump blower speed? ktkelly HVAC 1 07-18-2007 11:01 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts