Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2010, 12:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

using high Effiency havc systems ???


I built my dream home 2 years ago
It's 4200 sqft 2 story with Cellulose insulation in 2x 6 walls low-e /Krypton tripple glass packs. House is built tight and as efficient as money would allow.
My questions is on how to best use my high effency havc equipment

I have a 2 stage 95 % in the basement and variable 96 -97%? on the 2nd story in a hvac closet with the piping in the attic.

My hvac contractor told me this would be the best set up.
the 2 stage does most of the heating as the house is open and has a few baloon walls with cat walks so the 1 st story unit can do most of the heating.
I have programable Honeywell Pro Iaq T stat's

My question pertains to how to program the t sats and the amount of tempurature drop would be best.

I was told that these systems and best at maintaining consistant tempurature.
Is it best to drop 10 deg when not around or just a few deg with not at home.

The past winter I was keeping the heat at 62 when not at home and using the wood stove to heat up the house but now I have a 8 mo old and wife says we need to keep it at least 70 deg in his room

44elite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 12:51 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

using high Effiency havc systems ???


I guess if the boss says 70* then you need to keep it set @ 70* It will depend on how cold it gets . the lower you set it the longer it will take to to return to 70*

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

using high Effiency havc systems ???


That's essentially my question does a large tempurate drop take away from the effiency of these systems or are they better suited to maintain and more consistant tempurature 2-3 deg drop or no drop?
the unit's are American standard freedom 95 some or other.
I was told they are the cadillac's
44elite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 04:03 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,416
Default

using high Effiency havc systems ???


2 stage and Modulating furnaces. Are comfort furnaces. they are best suited to maintain a constant temp.

Using set back however does not lower their efficiency.

For set back. Use 1 degree for every 2 hours you(and your family) will be gone from the house. Same for night time set back. If everyone is in bed by 10PM, and the first person awake wakes at 5 AM. Then a 3 set back works fine(need half an hour to 1 hour to warm back up).

Your better half may not let you use a night time set back. Since she won't like getting up at 2 AM and feeding the baby when its cool/cold in the house.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
44elite (10-21-2010)
Old 10-21-2010, 08:06 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

using high Effiency havc systems ???


Thank you that was what I was wanting to know.
I have most of the ducts closed in the 2nd story with the exception of the master where the t stat is at and the baby's room and bath room.
Should I not do this or should I just have the 2nd story Zoned?

Any one know how much I would be looking at ball park to zone 4 rooms.
44elite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 06:39 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,416
Default

using high Effiency havc systems ???


Best not to shut them if the mod furnace is the one serving that area. Could cause it to have problems with over heating in the colder winter temps.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 06:42 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,416
Default

using high Effiency havc systems ???


Zoning cost what it cost. By both area, and by how hard or easy it is to zone the home/areas.

If your going to have it zoned. Or zone it yourself. look into the Evirozone panel(W8835). It uses communicating thermostat. Only the master thermostat can bring on the heat, or cooling. The other zones are conditioned when the master brings on the heat or cool. And the zones will open or close as needed, even if the temp is only .1 lower or higher then set for. this way prevents short cycling on teh equipment.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Efficiency Furnace Exhaust Vent-Need Bird/Insect Screen B4Dark HVAC 21 01-22-2014 05:51 PM
Permit For Fire Sprinklers letnes Plumbing 18 10-14-2010 05:23 PM
How high is too high in fence construction? Jim F Building & Construction 17 05-14-2010 06:38 PM
Comparison of subfloor waterproofing systems formarley Building & Construction 5 10-22-2009 10:03 AM
Best High Temp Paint for wood stove?? Sellncars Painting 9 01-21-2009 06:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.