Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2011, 08:51 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Using Condenser motor as blower..


Hello folks,
I have a small emergency cos my blower motor packed up.
I have a spare condenser motor with the exact same ratings etc..
Can I use it for a day or so, until I get my hands on a replacement blower motor?
Thanks in advance


Last edited by duxsi; 06-19-2011 at 08:54 AM.
duxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 08:56 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,353
Default

Using Condenser motor as blower..


I doubt it. Your furnace motor is 110 volts and that motor is 220 volts. Unless you have a 220 volt airhandler. RPMs will be different and wiring to the motor from the capacitor.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:01 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Using Condenser motor as blower..


They're both 208-230V, 1/3 HP, same RPM's, the same ampere..

It would be for about 24 hrs, until I get a new Blower motor.
Would the condenser motor run too hot?
Bad idea?
Thanks.

Last edited by duxsi; 06-19-2011 at 09:10 AM.
duxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:26 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,353
Default

Using Condenser motor as blower..


It may run too hot as it is designed for wide open/unobstructed continuos air over it to cool itself (fan motors have slots/vents in them and a cooling fan to allow air in for cooling) and may have a different design rating/motor duty and service factor (technical motor design details). May have a different diameter/frame size. I would not try it/go thru all that trouble.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:30 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Using Condenser motor as blower..


Thanks for your response.
Appreciate you taking the time..
duxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:44 AM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,575
Default

Using Condenser motor as blower..


once it starts the RA will cool it has to be lower then 85 air thru a condenser and up into your face +10F...run it check it after first cycle hand on body and let it ride....just couldn't do it the other way most AHUs are open types not seale as the condenser one is
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:55 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Using Condenser motor as blower..


Sorry Biggles, you lost me..
Could you please clarify.
Thanks
duxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:59 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Using Condenser motor as blower..


Yes it will work for a temp fix.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 10:00 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Using Condenser motor as blower..


Just got it.. Thanks
duxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 10:02 AM   #10
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,457
Default

Using Condenser motor as blower..


No, it wll not work for long, It is a design of torque thing, why the motors say condenser on them or I think they do.

It has to do with open air flow versus a blower wheel which is enclosed, the pitch of the blades and the amount of air.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Condenser and Blower not turning on nEmEsIs15dead HVAC 11 08-09-2010 09:56 PM
trol a temp mastertrol. Thermostat cannot kick on blower and condenser Ben2010 HVAC 0 07-25-2010 09:01 PM
Goodman Fan Condenser Replacement Help bigjohnstud4200 HVAC 2 07-03-2010 01:54 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.