Upstairs Cooling Problems - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2011, 10:46 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


I don't know how to run the supply because it is in between the floors. It doesn't appear in the attic except when I look under the floors from a closet. But the duct looks to be like 8 or something. I have a 16" coming into the furnace as a return as well as another box return coming off the furnace.

The only thing that appears in the attic is the returns as they are in the ceiling in the rooms.

What is Delta T?

Advertisement

enielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 11:18 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


My delta t never drops below 14 I don't think. I mean, its coming 59 from the vents and by the return it is like 79.

Here is my setup in my garage. Seems jank.

Upstairs Cooling Problems-mail.jpg

Upstairs Cooling Problems-mail2.jpg

Last edited by enielsen; 07-14-2011 at 11:54 PM.
enielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 11:54 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


Delta T is 21(80-59), very good...
clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:06 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


yea but my upstairs won't cool! The air coming out is cold, but doesn't flow out of the register as well as my smaller unit for downstairs...it is weird. And we just had USA Insulation (Website http://www.usainsulationindianapolis...&bc=1294378895)
come and bring the R value in the attic to 45. So I am trying to figure out what the hell is wrong with this thing cause our newborn is hot and our unit runs all the time.
enielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:27 AM   #20
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


If your heat load and duct are correct. I think, only zoning will even out the temp differences..
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:34 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


What is zoning? And my supply ducts for upstairs are smaller than downstairs. maybe that's why I don't have sufficient air velocity coming from vents upstairs?
enielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:50 AM   #22
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


http://www.perfect-home-hvac-design....ac-zoning.html

Check for manual D
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:57 AM   #23
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


I think beenthere is on the right track, you need more supply air and it would also explain your low temperature differential across your evap coil.

It would also explain air leaks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:58 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


ok i will do that. would me having 4 returns upstairs and only one return downstairs mean anything?

My 4 ton unit has 2 returns hooked into a wall cavity that goes into the attic and into a duct board box that has 3 returns hooked to it (south side room return, hallway return, and master bedroom east side return). The fourth return is in the master bedroom as well but is part of the wall cavity, so I sealed it off so that the air pulls from the attic return setup and not just that return in the master bedroom that I sealed off. My 3 ton (downstairs unit) has a return on the stairway accross from the thermostat.

Last edited by enielsen; 07-15-2011 at 01:01 AM.
enielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 01:05 AM   #25
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by enielsen View Post
ok i will do that. would me having 4 returns upstairs and only one return downstairs mean anything?

You'd be removing more heat as long as the returns are on the ceiling as heat rises but if you can't put them there then as best possible. You can never have too much return air. You can have 100 returns on one system and you will not affect the performance by having too many. Too little as in restricted and yes, you'll have problems but you've already figured that out.

But the problem is the high static pressure on the supply side. Your air is not moving so either your duct work needs to increase in size to the existing registers or you can add one or two smaller ones elsewhere in problem rooms, granted you have the space on your supply plenum.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 01:15 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


I think this could be the only thing left to look into. This is why this is difficult. They ran the ductwork between floors 1 and 2 for the upstairs (because this system used to heat and cool both floors. So there is registers on the downstairs ceiling and on the upstairs floors.) so the only way to get to it, is to tear open the ceilings (or floors) of the house. I know that my 3 ton unit downstairs has wider duct than my 4 ton unit upstairs. I saw one of the ducts when I was in the side portion of the attic to a closet and they seemed small and I felt cool air coming from the cavity that the duct was in...so does this basically mean that my ductwork is ****, I have clogs/holes, and that the only way to fix it is to tear apart the house?

What about Aeroseal? They spray it into the ducts and it seals leaks (If I have them).

Last edited by enielsen; 07-15-2011 at 01:28 AM.
enielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 01:53 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


You could try blocking the downstairs return to see what effect it has on your setup?
design_lover13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 01:57 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


my downstairs return is a different unit. Furnace A does downstairs, Furnace B does upstairs.
enielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 05:58 AM   #29
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,526
Rewards Points: 4,690
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


Additional supplies for th upstairs can be ran in the attic, and the registers ceiling mounted.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:50 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upstairs Cooling Problems


Yes, this is definitely a possibility, but I would need to run them through a central location to get them to the attic right? Like bundle them up and run them up a wall cavity or something?

Advertisement

enielsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
insulation


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooling capacity relation with air temperature. Samart HVAC 2 06-23-2011 08:39 PM
Wiring a Ruud RGTK-06E series furnace for 2-ton cooling bolo_invictus HVAC 3 01-25-2010 04:24 PM
Installation of Honeywell Thermostat - cooling function KDW Electrical 0 10-04-2009 10:56 AM
How to diagnose problems with wall kahlan General DIY Discussions 5 10-22-2008 10:18 AM
Are you having ice problems? Grumpy Roofing/Siding 27 02-17-2008 04:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts