Upgrading To Modern Thermostat - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2012, 09:07 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upgrading to Modern Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles
if you have a solid state module in the furnace those wires out of the wall connect to letered termials...R,G,Y,W,C on the board
Thanks Biggles. Not sure what you mean by a solid state module.
Would you disconnect the current thermostat from that "connector" that connects the wires from the unit into the old thermostat?
I notice the wires from the wall don't have any orange but it now has a blue wire and a white with green stripe.

Advertisement

jeremydpenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 09:09 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Upgrading to Modern Thermostat


So your system is a fan/coil unit that connects to the buildings heating/cooling water system. I'm not familiar with those, so will let others help you with this. Sorry for any confusion.

Any chance one of those tenants would let you peek at the wiring configuration? That would save a lot of time ...
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 09:17 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 453
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Upgrading to Modern Thermostat


Describe how you get heat and A/C. Ceiling registers for cooling? Baseboard for heat or forced air for heat also?

Do you have a utility closet with a door with louvers ?
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 10:51 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upgrading to Modern Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyorpay
Describe how you get heat and A/C. Ceiling registers for cooling? Baseboard for heat or forced air for heat also?

Do you have a utility closet with a door with louvers ?
Forced hot air
jeremydpenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 11:10 AM   #20
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Upgrading to Modern Thermostat


down in the furnace there might be a control module on the supply fan housing or in front of the burner section with resistors,and terminals on it the stat wires land there and correspond to the lettering up into the stat subbase on the wall....just throwing out stuff for you to add to others we'll get you going like this with terminals only one within it http://www.bestbuyheatingandaircondi...ode=CIB0110074

Advertisement


Last edited by biggles; 07-07-2012 at 11:19 AM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical , hvac , nest , thermostat


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 09:43 AM
Thermostat for electric baseboard wiring help needed vae_victis HVAC 10 01-05-2012 11:53 AM
Need help replacing an OLD General Controls Thermostat ohman HVAC 3 06-08-2011 06:35 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 05:32 PM
Thermostat issues rathipon HVAC 4 01-29-2011 12:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts