Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2012, 04:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Upgrade HoneyWell Chronotherm III to Venstar 2491T7E


Hi all,

I recently purchased a 6 wire Venstar 2491T7E w/Integrated Insteon to replace an old HoneyWell Chronotherm III. The chronotherm has 8 wires, and the Venstar only has 6. It doesn't look like all of the wires are necessary....one appears to be for a Status LED marked (L).

Is it possible for me to make this upgrade work, or do I need to buy a different Thermostat?

mustangnc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:14 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,051
Rewards Points: 3,766
Default

Upgrade HoneyWell Chronotherm III to Venstar 2491T7E


Do you have a link to the install manual.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Upgrade HoneyWell Chronotherm III to Venstar 2491T7E


What terminals are used on the old stat?

If the old stat was controlling a heat pump with electric heat strips, the new stat will need more than a W1/O/B terminal. It will also need an Aux/W2 terminal.
An E terminal is also an indication that it is for multistage heat pumps.

As Been has posted an install manual link would be of great assistance. All that I see online are homeowners manuals with no diagrams or terminal listings. It looks like the new stat does not have Aux or E terminals on other posts. Is this listed on the package?
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chronotherm, honeywell, insteon, venstar


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell TrueSteam wont work! Stewart Daniel General DIY Discussions 18 12-20-2010 08:41 AM
Honeywell Q674L to RTH7600D upgrade ssn HVAC 2 10-06-2010 07:53 PM
Wiring a Honeywell ProVision TH8321U1006, upgrade from Weathertron Tstat drandersoninc HVAC 6 10-04-2009 04:20 PM
Upgrade RV analog with Honeywell Thermostat Ray Wallace HVAC 3 08-13-2009 01:34 PM
Honeywell T8600D Chronotherm installation sasquatchbreath HVAC 9 11-02-2006 04:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.