Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-15-2014, 01:21 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


If you are going to simply change the unit you are going to have to go with a high static blower. Bryant, Carrier , Trane aren't in the high static business. If you install new ductwork then you can select whatever equipment your heart desires. Ask bout the Nordyne 15-seer high static package HP and a floor return if noise is an issue.

Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 06:21 AM   #32
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick Eubanks View Post
If you are going to simply change the unit you are going to have to go with a high static blower. Bryant, Carrier , Trane aren't in the high static business. If you install new ductwork then you can select whatever equipment your heart desires. Ask bout the Nordyne 15-seer high static package HP and a floor return if noise is an issue.

Actually, the high static unit being needed is a falsehood. A standard air handler will work fine. As the factory unit couldn't move 400 CFM per ton when the home was made.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
eric woodall (05-15-2014), sammy37 (05-16-2014)
Old 05-15-2014, 07:14 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Estimate inspection got rained out yesterday. Am going to try again Friday afternoon.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 07:17 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Once again, estimate inspection moved. Monday at earliest due to workmen being busy. Home appraisal shows we have about $6,000 in equity to work with, unless they give us an in-house loan. Suspect it will not be more than $7,000 total. I don't know if new venting and a package unit can be had for this amount.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 07:18 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


I mean a package heat pump unit.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 01:27 AM   #36
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


first and foremost your existing system is not designed for a mobile home and is illegal.



Ducane/trane, etc.. do not make mobile home systems.

Intertherm is the brand that specializes in mobile home systems.

Secondly, you need a heat load calculation done on your place or at the very least we need to know square footage of home.

A 13 seer system, sized correctly with proper static pressure (duct sizes) and sealing is what you need.

17 seer or any seer rated system above even what you currently have is not the answer to saving money.

True and proper airflow as well as true and proper sealing of system is where you save money.

Like the Transformers, theres more than meets the eye..
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 09:21 AM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Doc: Can you clarify what you mean by illegal? We currently have a split system, Carrier gas furnace/ac unit (Model 27MH120101) with original evaporator coil, and a Ducane 8 SEER condenser unit outside. Heat chamber inside is cracked, which is why we are having entire unit replaced.

Home is 1700 square feet of room to be cooled, including closets. I like the idea of installing a complete package unit outside and replacing factory-installed vent runs (4 X 12 if I measured correctly) with a larger vent run or maybe tin floor vents joined by flexible ducting. I do not see installing a 17 SEER system, but have focused more on 13-16 SEER. I am hoping the idea of installing larger vent runs is a feasible one when the AC technician comes out to the house. The home sits on a permanent block foundation and holes will have to be cut into the exterior block and 2 X 8 or 10 framing installed for the ducting if a package unit is installed.

The system is to be rewired into the outside 200 amp breaker box as opposed to the way the existing system is wired into our Bryant 100 amp interior breaker box, which needs to be replaced by a 200 amp GE unit.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 09:26 AM   #38
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


The HUD in some states require the unit to be HUD approved. The federal HUD does not. So in states that their HUD doesn't require it to HUD approved, it is not illegal.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 09:39 AM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


I would like to add here for anyone reading this that the existing vent run on the air handler side of the mobile home drips condensation all summer long with the ac on because the vent itself is uninsulated other than the sheet factory fiberglass insulation that covers the bottom of the floor joists. A lot of this insulation has fallen out, so the vents will have to be replaced or reinsulated.

I figure if they have to be reinsulated, maybe larger ones can be installed. I just remeasured the vent run from a spot where I renovated our master bathroom. It is 12" wide by 6" high so it is bigger than I thought. The vents coming off the main vent, though, are smaller. I installed a 4 X 12" in the master bathroom, but the other vents (measured from the grille area) are 4" X 8". The main floor vent is also dirty with crud where the smaller vents join it. I have put a light down the vent and looked in there with a large mirror and see no breaks in it. I will just have to wait and see what the contractor says about the vents.

The first contractor who came out here, who suggested the Broan unit, said the way to insulate the vent run would be to wrap it in plastic sheeting and inject spray foam between the plastic and the metal vent (?)
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 10:15 AM   #40
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,780
Rewards Points: 2,698
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


I am not familiar with HUD but units for mobile homes have to be approved for them if inside. They are in closets and are built for closer to combustible clearances ( the furnaces) and to be able to be transported on wheels. If it is not being transported on wheels again and you are going with an outside unit ( non furnace ) then there is no danger and unless your insurance company insists on it being mobile home approved I would not worry. Check with them but don't get too excited or worried as it may not be a problem.

Only furnaces have clearance to combustible issues so if you are going with a air handler/heat pump with no electric elements you may not have to worry about it either. Carrier apparently and other manufacturers are coming out with mobile home approved reverse flow furnaces so it will not only be Nordyne, Miller you can choose from.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 05-17-2014 at 10:18 AM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 10:25 AM   #41
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Most manufacturers have an optional downflow plate for their heat pump air handlers. And are then zero clearance to combustibles.

Main thing that HUD units have that make them HUD approved, is the fresh air intake.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 12:01 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


I was thinking about an external package unit with electric heating elements in case the weather got colder than the heat pump could manage. I would like to do away with the inside unit completely if possible. I'm pulling my hair out until the contractor can get here. Wish I could hire you guys

Home has a roof over the original roof with a higher peak, and existing gas furnace exhaust goes through both. I'm going to have fun removing this, as well.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 11:14 AM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Okay. Here is estimate given me this morning. Please tell me I didn't mess up by agreeing to a Comfortmaker 15 SEER 4-ton package unit. It was either that or a Bryant unit. Technician said both were the same.

Removal of old equipment, electrical, floor return ac vents installed, package unit installed midway of the house (including cutting into cement block for ductwork) with duct work tapping into center of existing 12" x 6" vents, mastic sealing around floor vents, thermostat, 10 year parts warranty, 5 year labor warranty, 1 year service agreement. Estimate $6,140.00. Technician said may run a little over, according to what had to be done under house.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 11:14 AM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Same estimate with a Bryant package unit was $6,495
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 12:48 PM   #45
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,780
Rewards Points: 2,698
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


You didn't mess up. The Bryant is built heavier and may be quieter outside which you may or may not notice or care about. If it was me and I had the extra $350 I would go with the Bryant but the Comfortmaker is a good unit also. Owned by ICP who makes Heil/Keeprite/Tempstar and all 4 are identical/clones. Better quality than the first stuff you were looking at IMO.

What does he mean about a bit more? That may be several hundred $$ which you need to have or budget for. He should have looked under there and given you a firm price or it may get ugly later. Business is not done that way. I would call his Boss and nicely say you need a firm price for your budget.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 05-20-2014 at 12:54 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual fuel heat pump - no heat without propane sweetfarm HVAC 3 10-11-2012 09:07 AM
Drainage under packaged heat pump salonica HVAC 18 12-25-2011 08:07 AM
How to stop auxillary heat from coming on defrost cycle and limit auxillary heat use? twilightcall HVAC 34 12-28-2010 07:53 PM
heat pump cut off set point oldswab HVAC 4 12-02-2009 03:09 PM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 03:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.