Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2014, 03:20 AM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Share |
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy37 View Post
The advantage I see also for a package unit is, you can have a plenum centralized between both haves of the house and branch off 4 ways, 2 for one side of the house and two for the other.

Yep, that works too.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 09:55 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Just got an estimate. Here is what contractor proposes: 1. Install Broan manufactured housing E3EB-015H, with 15kw electric furnace, with top grill and frame, Mortex 98-8W7Y-OP coil, and Airtemp VT4BD-48K heat pump condensing unit. Includes replacing the flexible crossover duct under house with insulated metal pipe and elbows, insulating exposed metal ductwork at crossover area, programmable heat pump thermostat, removal of old equipment, including refrigerant recovery and legal disposal, all electric wiring, setup, and testing. Total price including permit fee, $5,412.

I will have to call him and see if this includes removing the existing gas furnace stack and patching the holes, as well as insulating the exposed duct run down the house. I have to ask him about running ducts 3/4 down the existing ducts, as well, because this was not discussed. I know the cost will be higher.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 10:02 AM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


I hate to be negative but IMO that is cheap no name quality equipment. There are quite a few import companies and distributors with these no name units nowadays catering to a low end price point. OK if that is what you want but IMO you get what you pay for. The problem can be 10 yrs down the road getting parts if they are out of business and that happens a LOT.

Rheem/Ruud makes some pretty good entry level units and so does Goodman. After that the major players like Trane, Carrier, Lennox, York I would recommend. These brands have been around 4ever and will be there down the road.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 05-11-2014 at 10:05 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
eric woodall (05-11-2014)
Old 05-11-2014, 10:04 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


I have tried looking at the Broan unit online, but cannot tell if it is a two-speed unit (looking for a quiet unit, existing fan is loud). Quietness is one of my concerns, and I am hoping this installation will work with the existing duct work by adding helper ducts.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 10:12 AM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Once again I am not trying to be negative but the facts of life are that mobile homes/trailers are priced for less wealthy folks and use the cheapest cost units to keep the price down and affordable. That company is owned by the Nordyne group (huge) who owns Miller etc and makes a lot of trailer units. Trailer units are lightweight, thinner, cheaper and noisier. If you want quieter you may want to go with the heavier residential units like the major players I mentioned. Nothing wrong with Nordyne but you need to know the market.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 05-11-2014 at 10:15 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 10:17 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Yuri: Thanks for the tip. This project has just been put on hold. I like your idea of the single contained outdoor unit. The only problems I see is that we have only two runs of duct, one down each side of the house, 4X12" if I measured them correctly, and the doublewide sits on a permanent block foundation. Holes would have to be cut in this to allow for the pipes, and something would have to be done about recirculation ducts. Not sure how to push forward from here.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 10:25 AM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Recirc ducts will make a huge difference and improve comfort. The problem you are going to have is finding a contractor that has some imagination and a skilled sheet metal fabricator who can design a system and install it. There are some but they are rare. Most guys do like for like replacements primarily. It is very time consuming and can be expensive but may be worthwhile if you plan to stay there. I did custom work and we renovated houses and did complete new duct pkgs in old houses etc so there are some guys out there capable of it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
eric woodall (05-11-2014)
Old 05-11-2014, 03:21 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


I asked another company about replacing the ducts last Thursday after telling them what setup I had, and the office assistant said she would have to ask one of the techs when he came in and would call me back. No call back yet.

I really like this place we live in, I took the main bathroom down to the studs and rebuilt it, and the wall 2 x 4s were in good shape, as were the floor joists. I would really like to install the package unit if that is possible. I am going to try to get another HVAC tech out here (not the Broan man) next week if I can get off work early or meet him at the house during the day. The guy who gave me the Broan unit estimate waited three weeks to give it to me.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 10:03 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Yuri, if you happen to see this. when I talk to another contractor do I need to ask about using the current 4X12 vents as recirculation vents? And what do I say if they start talking about using only flexible duct for any new ductwork? Thanks for your input!
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 10:04 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


This is using the proposal of a packaged unit outside the home.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 11:50 AM   #26
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


I cannot see what you have under the home for ducts or layout and I have only seen a few double wides where I am. They are common but I have not run into many or been under one.

In THEORY it may be possible to have return ducts but in reality it all depends what is under there for space, plumbing pipes, drains etc. I would tell them what it is you have in mind and they have to scope it out figure it out and we cannot do it over the net. Flexible ducts are very common in attics and as long as they are not kinked are OK. Need to be stretched out and supported properly.

You cannot re-use your supply vents for returns.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 05-12-2014 at 11:52 AM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
eric woodall (05-12-2014)
Old 05-12-2014, 12:24 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Thanks, Yuri! I guess I'll have someone come out to the house to discuss installation options. I just don't want to spend $7.000 or more to have heating/cooling problems because the vents are too small.
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 06:11 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


I have a contractor coming out tomorrow. I talked with the company and they say they do this type of work (ducts). Maybe they can install a package unit with a central duct like you guys are saying. I will find out tomorrow. By the way, they are a Bryant dealer. Do I need to request some other package if offered a Bryant unit? I've never heard of Bryant. Thanks for any advice!
eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 06:50 PM   #29
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Bryant is owned by Carrier and identical to Carrier and very good. Let us know eventually if it all turns out.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
eric woodall (05-13-2014)
Old 05-13-2014, 08:53 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Upgrade from Dinosaur to Heat Pump


Thanks, Yuri! I will let you know the outcome of the meeting tomorrow. I tried to tell them over the phone what I wanted to do, which is have a package unit installed. They did say they had a man capable of making new duct work, so I will see what they say after they inspect the house tomorrow afternoon. I am taking off work early to let them in.

eric woodall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual fuel heat pump - no heat without propane sweetfarm HVAC 3 10-11-2012 08:07 AM
Drainage under packaged heat pump salonica HVAC 18 12-25-2011 07:07 AM
How to stop auxillary heat from coming on defrost cycle and limit auxillary heat use? twilightcall HVAC 34 12-28-2010 06:53 PM
heat pump cut off set point oldswab HVAC 4 12-02-2009 02:09 PM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 02:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.