Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2011, 10:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Share |
Question

Universal fan motor??


My fan motor recently blew and I am going to attempt to find a replacement and fix it myself. I am having a hard time finding the exact motor as the original.

My friend asked his HVAC buddy and he said I could use a universal fan motor.

Has anyone ever tried one of these? Are they any good? I'm just skeptical as to how great it will work with my ac unit seeing how the voltage and other things vary from machine to machine.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

dooge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 10:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Universal fan motor??


Where are looking? Any decent supply house can find a replacement if it is not really old.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 10:21 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Universal fan motor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Where are looking? Any decent supply house can find a replacement if it is not really old.
I live in Calvert County MD. I have been able to find supply houses that say they have the part but will not sell to me because I am not HVAC certified.

The guy my friend talked to was able to find one for cheap and much closer but it's universal.

Sorry, perhaps I should have explained a little better
dooge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 10:33 AM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Universal fan motor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by dooge View Post
I live in Calvert County MD. I have been able to find supply houses that say they have the part but will not sell to me because I am not HVAC certified.

The guy my friend talked to was able to find one for cheap and much closer but it's universal.

Sorry, perhaps I should have explained a little better
The supply house is full of it. You do not have to be HVAC certified to get a motor.
PS. Who is the company, I will call and ream them out.

You have to be be EPA certified to get freon, but that is different.

Some companies make UL listed replacements, if your "universal" motor qualifies and is the correct size, voltage, and such: put in in.

What is your make and model?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 01:58 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Default

Universal fan motor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
The supply house is full of it. You do not have to be HVAC certified to get a motor.
PS. Who is the company, I will call and ream them out.

You have to be be EPA certified to get freon, but that is different.

Some companies make UL listed replacements, if your "universal" motor qualifies and is the correct size, voltage, and such: put in in.

What is your make and model?
Thanks a lot man. Yeah, I figured they were giving me some BS.

The supply house is Lyon Conklin and Co. They kept asking me what company I was with. I told them I wasn't with any company and they blew me off. They just want me to use one of their service techs so I pay them $120 to tell me something I already know.

By all means call them and let them have it!

Below are pics of my blower motor numbers and my Trane XB13 numbers.
Attached Thumbnails
Universal fan motor??-2011-09-12_11-47-27_399.jpg   Universal fan motor??-2011-09-12_21-20-48_912.jpg  
dooge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 02:24 PM   #6
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Universal fan motor??


You need the new motor have the same RPM, HP, AMP
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 02:46 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 129
Default

Universal fan motor??


Look in the yellow pages under electric motors. Any of those companies can get you an exact replacement motor. No HVAC license required.
kb3ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:05 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,638
Default

Universal fan motor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
The supply house is full of it. You do not have to be HVAC certified to get a motor.
PS. Who is the company, I will call and ream them out.

You have to be be EPA certified to get freon, but that is different.

Some companies make UL listed replacements, if your "universal" motor qualifies and is the correct size, voltage, and such: put in in.

What is your make and model?

If you are not hvac certified/registered you can not buy a soda from the Coke machine at supply houses here. They will not sell to anyone, no 410-A which one does not even have to be EPA certified to handle unless you are a contractor or a hand tool or cap or a motor, not anything unless you are verifiabley in the trade.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:16 PM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,638
Default

Universal fan motor??


I think it has to do with insurance reasons, why they're so strict around here. Now those are the big supply houses that sell American Standard and Trane and Rheem and Ruud, Lennox and Goodman etc., etc., but there are a few mom and pop hvac shops that will sell any refrigerant or whatever to anyone off the street.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:20 PM   #10
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,638
Default

Universal fan motor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
You need the new motor have the same RPM, HP, AMP

yup yup. Thing about replacement motors is you can go up in hp and keep the same rpm. You can go from a 1/5 to a 1/4 or 1/3 and as long as the total amp draw of the condenser is within breaker (max fuse) range it will work. Usually you can gain one, two amps without any problems.

rpm should stay the same but even than you see 1075 replacements on 1100 without any problems. Happens daily but that's only 25 rpm, not 100 or more which could lead to severe high head pressure, compressor failure, etc.

Last edited by Doc Holliday; 09-13-2011 at 05:22 PM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:54 PM   #11
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Universal fan motor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
If you are not hvac certified/registered you can not buy a soda from the Coke machine at supply houses here. They will not sell to anyone, no 410-A which one does not even have to be EPA certified to handle unless you are a contractor or a hand tool or cap or a motor, not anything unless you are verifiabley in the trade.
Where are you located? That will not fly here. A motor and such is not restricted.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 05:56 PM   #12
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Universal fan motor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
I think it has to do with insurance reasons, why they're so strict around here. Now those are the big supply houses that sell American Standard and Trane and Rheem and Ruud, Lennox and Goodman etc., etc., but there are a few mom and pop hvac shops that will sell any refrigerant or whatever to anyone off the street.
OP wants a motor, not refrigerant. Different beast.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 06:17 PM   #13
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Universal fan motor??


I bet you wish that you call someone instead try to save money on labor. I seen other posting you put up about trying to do it yourself to save on labor. Trane will not sell or redeem warranty part to public. I work for a Trane dealer. Good luck. PS Trane will void warranty on that motor you took apart. There is a seal in the inside of the motor that shows if it been took apart or rebuild.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 06:21 PM   #14
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Universal fan motor??


I even look up your model and serial number on that unit. It has part warranty until 2015. Coil and compressor 2017. Once again good luck
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 06:45 PM   #15
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,638
Default

Universal fan motor??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Where are you located? That will not fly here. A motor and such is not restricted.

The hvac capitol of the world.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fan, hvac, motor, universal


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace condensor fan motor? twags HVAC 43 07-22-2013 08:09 PM
Blower motor: Emerson to GE threeonesix HVAC 12 08-25-2011 03:59 PM
New fan motor going out? DavidI HVAC 5 06-23-2010 10:38 AM
Air Handler Motor Wiring brando1118 HVAC 13 06-18-2010 11:42 AM
Replacing a Condenser Fan Motor thothtp HVAC 5 06-08-2008 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.