Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-20-2008, 11:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


i have a york heat pump unit and it seems to run constantly when temperture is below 35 degrees. i set the inside thermostat to 71 and and i placed a thermometer in the the main pipe to gauge the tempertue in the indoor unit and i noticed that the unit seems to make a straining noise and i read the gauge and it was reading between 100-120f and i use a infarred red thermometer to check the temperture from the vents and they range from about 75-80f. i understad that the temperture coming from the vents would seem to feel cool but i just feel that there is a big difference from the two readings. i anyone have any answers i am open to evey option.

luvjww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 05:31 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


Is your duct in the attic, or basement.
Is it maintaining temp, but not shutting off.
Ot isn't it maintaining temp at 35 either.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 09:26 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


the duct is in the attic. one thing i noticed is after the aux heat brings the thermostat to room temperture the aux kicks off but the unit continues to run. i am sure it is keeping temperture.
luvjww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:02 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


If you have a didital thermostat, that uses CPH.
Set the second stage CPH to a number lower then first stage, and it will satisfy the heat call in second stage, when it gets to temps below 35..
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:11 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


im not sure what cph is but my thernostat displays inside temperture and set to and it also displays that the heat is on and when the aux kicks in it also displays
luvjww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:16 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


im not sure what cph is but my thermostat displays inside temp and set to temp and when aux kicks in it also displays
luvjww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:36 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


CPH stands for Cycles Per Hour.
Its one method that some stats use to control the on and off cycle times, and temp control.

Other ones use only temp difference.

Check your install manual, and see which method yours uses.

What brand and model is it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:44 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


it is a honeywell rth3100c non -programmable
luvjww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 01:28 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,538
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


On that stat, I believe its function number 8, to set the aux heat cycle rate lower.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 02:35 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


Ok I will look into trying that.
luvjww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 05:47 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Moyock, NC
Posts: 37
Default

unit runs fails to clcle off when temperture reaches below 35 degrees


Quote:
Originally Posted by luvjww View Post
i have a york heat pump unit and it seems to run constantly when temperture is below 35 degrees. i set the inside thermostat to 71 and and i placed a thermometer in the the main pipe to gauge the tempertue in the indoor unit and i noticed that the unit seems to make a straining noise and i read the gauge and it was reading between 100-120f and i use a infarred red thermometer to check the temperture from the vents and they range from about 75-80f. i understad that the temperture coming from the vents would seem to feel cool but i just feel that there is a big difference from the two readings. i anyone have any answers i am open to evey option.

This 100-120F temp is the surface temperature at the inlet piping of the indoor unit? If this is so, the vent outlet temp is about the correct temperature(75-80F). If the outdoor temp is below 35F your heat pump efficiency decreases that is why your indoor unit has an auxilliary electric heater to help maintain the temperature at your supply vents. You are still going to experience temperature fluctuation, it is normal. Constant running of your compressor @ 35F is normal. Now, if the your indoor room temperarure is achieve and the compressor (outdoor unit) is still running for a long period of time then you have a problem.Check your outdoor unit for ice accumulation on the condensing coil. If it does happen, then you might have issues with defrost sensor or defrost control board.

pbservano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air beakon20 HVAC 4 08-13-2008 09:33 PM
Sweating windows big daddy-o General DIY Discussions 15 01-06-2008 02:41 PM
AC Unit Continuously Runs - yet it is cooling reefland HVAC 4 06-17-2007 07:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.