Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2012, 06:08 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

understanding hvac... cold air return questions


I have some work to do and one of the jobs is to shorten the cold air return... moving it shorter will eliminate one of the vents in the end.. If I do that, do I have to add a vent somewhere to make up for the I'm eliminating? The guy from hvac company that put system in came out and said its a easy quick job but it going to cost 500$...

Thanks

Shawnzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 06:36 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

understanding hvac... cold air return questions


What size system do you have, what size is the main return/ the existing duct run and what is the size of the remaining return grill?

I ask because you need a minimum amount of return air per ton. It could be that the one you are removing was simply an addition to the minimum, or it could be one part of the two that equals the minimum. You can never have too much return air, you can install return airs all over your house if you wanted from just that one system, but you can have too little.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 09:28 AM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

understanding hvac... cold air return questions


do all the rooms have their own R/A vents eliminating one of 2 in a room will effect the room return but minmal on the system,with the other R/As pulling the difference...do you have a main area R/A vent near the stat
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 06:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

understanding hvac... cold air return questions


Without being there to measure air my answer is going to be yes. Nobody spends extra money to install duct that doesn't need to be there so if you remove one then replace it.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Return air / cold air draft BIG1RED9 HVAC 0 12-11-2011 08:38 PM
HVAC return in basement stringers HVAC 0 11-18-2011 02:14 PM
Help with hvac return duct gasbie HVAC 3 06-19-2011 10:44 AM
Basement Return Questions 108Stitches HVAC 5 02-03-2009 10:56 AM
Basement Cold air return Bcoleman6 HVAC 2 06-07-2008 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.