Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2012, 11:17 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmon View Post
borrow a video camera and set it up.... thermostats normally don't change themselves.... something fishy going on......
We've lived there for two years and this is the first instance of something like this happening. Is there no mechanism in the thermostadt that could allow for it to move on its own if the conditions are right?

Extion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 11:25 PM   #17
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,200
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


I'm not of much help, but I thought I'd share a funny thermostat story I heard at work.(phone company)

One time they got a trouble ticket, the customer said every time someone called them, their furnace would start. The tech was like "whaaaa?!" So he goes over to check it out. Someone had hooked up the thermostat wire to the phone line somehow. LOL

Maybe your thermostat is hooked up to something it should not? lol
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 11:42 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Squirrel View Post
I'm not of much help, but I thought I'd share a funny thermostat story I heard at work.(phone company)

One time they got a trouble ticket, the customer said every time someone called them, their furnace would start. The tech was like "whaaaa?!" So he goes over to check it out. Someone had hooked up the thermostat wire to the phone line somehow. LOL

Maybe your thermostat is hooked up to something it should not? lol
lol. No, no, it's an Honeywell, non-programmable, analog model. The connection is quite simple. Im just wondering of the coil inside could somehow "buckle" from the heat, or somehow exert some force on the dial?
Extion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 12:02 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


Trying to go about this logically has only brought me to one other conclusion. I'm assuming the thermostat has been on cranked for quite some time, and we just hadn't noticed since its been so hot in the apartment that it just didn't trigger the heat register (as it would give the distinct smell of turning on that we just haven't experienced until today).

Being that today was much cooler, when the breeze came through and slammed the door, it displaced the air enough to trigger the thermostat to turn on, giving the effect that someone had turned it on today without anyone being around.

However, the problem still exists knowing that nobody has come to visit that would have played with the thermostat, and that neither me or my girlfriend have touched it since turning them off after the winter months.

Although this sounds more logical, it still doesn't make any sense...
Extion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:23 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


Mechanical thermostats can get out or whack at times and need to be recalibrated, but generally those recalibrations are just a few degrees - not nearly enough to significantly alter the settings. Could have simply been that, or someone could have inadvertantly bumped it up while cleaning, walking beside it, carrying something in the room, etc etc. I can beleive a digital tstat could do what is described earlier in this thread - turn on by itself, or move settings up/down - but a mechanical thermostat requires physical movement to alter settings.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 02:40 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


For all the non-believers, this has happened twice to my daughter in the past year. She mentioned it to me to see if I knew why but since it's never happened to me, I didn't know. I told her I'd check around on the internet to see if it's happened to anyone else and I was disappointed to see that most of the pros in here think it's a hoax. I guess I'll check some other areas to see if I find the same thoughts. Good thing it's not an issue that need corrective action asap.
Joyce58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:55 PM   #22
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,506
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


Yup He's an Engineer. Cant spell "their"

Before I went to colage I count efen spell enkneer, now I are 1.
__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:05 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 229
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


This is a fairly common problem in the home automation world. It's caused by trying to use an electronic thermostat without a common wire back to the transformer. Lots of older installations either didn't wire a common to the thermostat location, or didn't connect it at the transformer.
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 06:30 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


Many electronic stats don't have a common wire, and are powered by batteries. Regardless, as I said earlier, it's certainly conceivable with a digital/electronic stat, but not with an older analog stat.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 06:47 AM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,542
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmcd9999 View Post
Many electronic stats don't have a common wire, and are powered by batteries. Regardless, as I said earlier, it's certainly conceivable with a digital/electronic stat, but not with an older analog stat.
Seen 2 T87F thermostats that set the temp higher by themselves. When ever the heat would come on. As the bimetel would move it would also move the dial up just a little, and over the course of 2 to 3 days it would increase the temp setting by 4 to 6 degrees.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
operagost (01-07-2013)
Old 01-26-2013, 12:53 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


How weird... my thermostat has has been overriding the settings by itself. I have no idea how it happens. There is only the two of us and I wake up first (usualy by the sound of the heater blasting). Its set at 66 and I wake up to it on at override 70. Its so weird, makes me feel better someone else knows what im talking about. Also my stove keeps switching to the timer by its self as well ... who knows. Im just worried its some type of electrical issuse in my house.
emort520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:24 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,273
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


we have seen some programmable t-stats get screwed up in the process of setting itself during the operation of adjusting itself...replace stat...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 12:18 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


Please tell me there Is a fix I left my house for a few days set ac at 87 to avoid coming hometown a hot house 4days later came home to a cold nous ac was set at 75 today I baritone set at 80 all day not 5 min ago I walked by its at 75 grrrr I cant afford my ac running all the time
eirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 03:29 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 594
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


Well, since you posted here instead of starting a new thread, you probably read most of this discussion. Make sure your thermostat is wired properly (at least two wires should be connected inside, normally), and replace the battery if it has one. If those check out, replace the thermostat.

I imagine you'd know if your thermostat was programmable, but in case you just moved in (or you're a renter), see if your model of thermostat is programmable and turn off the program. Most programmables let you override, but then cancel the override after a set time (like two hours for cheaper Honeywells) and/or when they hit the next setpoint in the schedule.

Also, please slow down when you type!
operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 11:28 AM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Unbelievable, Thermostat setting changes by ITSELF


Don't know about what all you "experts"say, but this has happened to me three times. Honeywell thermostat with numbers 0514 and T822D2550, non digital non programmable type. Bought this house over a year ago, and this just started happening. Two times during the night the thermostat has moved over to make the heat run longer, one time we woke up to 85 degrees! The third time, the thermostat control had moved all the way to the cool side, keeping the heat from coming on at all. This thermostat controls the heating unit only, no a/c, and no on off or auto settings. No kids ,wasn't bumped in to. This only happens overnight...I think my house is haunted....

Russ Shepard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan setting reads AUTO and ON at same time on Honeywell 8500 thermostat Studly HVAC 1 03-21-2011 08:27 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Burner always stops at LOW setting on L8124L pleasehelpmike HVAC 2 01-19-2011 08:22 AM
Least expensive Programmable Thermostat for home with automatic vacation setting Studly HVAC 2 12-15-2009 07:18 AM
A/C not cooling to thermostat setting? stephgpdiy HVAC 11 08-21-2009 07:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.