Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2013, 12:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

type of furnace filter


Hi, sorry for what is probably a stupid question.
I'm about to change the furnace filter in my new place. The previous owner happened to leave the manual for the furnace (Lennox AM30) and I had a quick look, and the manual says to always use the same type of filters. The current one is some kind of foam filter, never seen one like it before.
My question is, do I really have to use the same kind of filter, or can I go ahead and use, say, a 3M electrostatic of the same size?

Thanks

jbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 12:28 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,647
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

type of furnace filter


you can use a paper throwaway type as long as it fits properly. more than likely a 16x25x1 or 20x25x1 depending on the unit. I would not use one that is rated higher than a MERV 8 as it may slow down the air too much and a electrostatic may do the same. go to HDepot they have true blue merv 7 or 8 generic filters. unfortunately that unit has had some issues and is sort of obsolete and you should get a experienced Lennox tech to check it out. it is pretty specific to Lennox so I would recommend their guys. don't ask what the issues are as I am not going to get into a long story.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 05-02-2013 at 12:30 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
concretemasonry (05-02-2013)
Old 05-02-2013, 11:15 PM   #3
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 250
Default

type of furnace filter


it sounds like it may be a washable filter. just take it out and wash it using your shower head dry and place back in slot
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
old furnace with bizarre filter setup utek HVAC 2 10-14-2013 08:49 PM
Nordyne furnace, error code: Pressure switch stuck closed. javagrendel HVAC 21 03-25-2013 01:14 PM
Going from 1 inch furnace filter to 5 inch furnace filter. BorgVilla HVAC 11 01-24-2011 04:17 PM
Heil Furnace - Filter adbolton HVAC 0 01-17-2011 09:23 AM
Milwaukee Thermoflo Furnace Filter? HELP! ur1ofus HVAC 1 12-02-2007 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.