Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-30-2012, 12:43 PM   #1

Share |

TXV compressor with orifice tube/piston coil

I'm an ASE certified mechanic with my 609 certification but I'm not up to speed with residential HVAC systems. I recently bought a foreclosed house and the previous owners removed the outside unit (compressor condenser fan) from the a/c system. The air handler line set and ducting are still all intact. The air handler is a Goodman ARFU 030-00a, it is a 30k btu coil with an orifice tube. I acquired a 6 year old R22 Lennox HS26-030 outside unit from a friend who had an addition put on his house and upgraded his HVAC system.
here are my questions:
The HS26 says it is designed for use with an expansion valve, can I use it with an orifice tube coil?
The HS26 was removed by "a professional" the lines were cut and the valves inside the unit were shut off, will the system need to have any oil added or is it all contained in the compressor?
The line set on my Goodman unit were cut and might be a little short to fit to the HS26, do they make couplers to extend the line set or will I need to but a new line set? The lines are the same size for the Goodman and the HS26.
I do understand that the orifice will not be as efficient as a TXV but I'm on a tight budget and need to know if it will work. The air handler is in my attic and doesn't have a ton of room to get it out.
aselby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 02:56 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry

It will work but you need to know what the old condenser was or at the very least what size piston is in the evaporator right now.