Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2008, 07:27 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 25
Share |
Default

Two Thermostats in One Heat Zone. OK?


It's a 105K BTU Utica NG boiler.

What are you looking for on the temp rise? It looks to be running about 180F before it cycles off. (It will run constant for about 30-40 minutes when calling for heat, not short cycling.)

fishmanflats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 07:34 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 25
Default

Two Thermostats in One Heat Zone. OK?


Quote:
Originally Posted by buletbob View Post
Here is a suggestion!! You could be able to separate the two floors to make two zones from the basement below. that would be the best bet! with a monoflow system, there's usually is a 1" loop with two tee's cut into it. then 1/2" coming from the tee to the rad.. find the monoflow tee that brings the hot water to the second floor and remove it and install a standard coupling on the feed side and the same for the return side. then run a new loop for your zone to the four pipes leading upstairs.don't forget to install the monoflow tee's.
And also check and see if the system was repaired at some point. I have seen Mono flow tee's installed backwards which will make the system not work properly. there should be and arrow on the tee to show the direction of the water flow. BOB.
I looked into doing this last summer. Both plumbers that i had come out never called back. I was guessing about $2500-3000 for the job. The loop is 1 1/2" copper and I'd need about 110 feet (about $1000 for the pipping alone). My basement is partially finished, so I'd need to have some ceiling removed. I figured 30 ft of wire and a new thermostat would be less than $50 and a little easier to get done.
fishmanflats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 11:23 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,529
Default

Two Thermostats in One Heat Zone. OK?


Temp rise, is the difference between return water temp, and discharge water temp.
What is it on your system.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 05:37 AM   #19
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Default

Two Thermostats in One Heat Zone. OK?


Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmanflats View Post
I looked into doing this last summer. Both plumbers that i had come out never called back. I was guessing about $2500-3000 for the job. The loop is 1 1/2" copper and I'd need about 110 feet (about $1000 for the pipping alone). My basement is partially finished, so I'd need to have some ceiling removed. I figured 30 ft of wire and a new thermostat would be less than $50 and a little easier to get done.
if I remember correctly that there is just two rads on the second floor, which i would guess you should be able to use 3/4". and you could switch from copper to pex. just another thought. BOB
buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 09:07 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 25
Default

Two Thermostats in One Heat Zone. OK?


I don't have a way of measuring this. The boiler is too old to have these controls. There's only the analog reading on the side.

-Mike
fishmanflats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 09:08 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 25
Default

Two Thermostats in One Heat Zone. OK?


I actually have four radiators on the second floor, three in bedrooms and on in a bathroom.
fishmanflats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 09:14 PM   #22
BUILDER / REMODELING CONT
 
buletbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: LONG ISLAND N.Y
Posts: 1,543
Default

Two Thermostats in One Heat Zone. OK?


then the bigger pipe will be needed.

buletbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Propane 2 zone heat theleos7 HVAC 6 01-09-2008 05:41 PM
Zone system not working with heat. deliriousga HVAC 5 12-29-2006 06:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.