Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-26-2014, 03:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Twinning Issue


Here we go...I went out to look at a unit another Tech. was having a problem with. It is a twinned system with York airhandlers/furnaces. The unit cools fine. The problem is that the slave air handler is giving 9 red flashes indicating reverse polarity or missing ground. The blower of the slave will cycle on every hour for about 90 secs. When wiring each system independently they both function with out error codes. The tech. Who worked on it originally replaced the control board on the slave. Ever since then he has had this issue. All the wiring is correct but still can get rid of error code. Any thoughts?

a.man1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 05:31 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,612
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

Twinning Issue


On the board the 24 volt wires from the secondary side of the transformer must be in the EXACT Sec 1 and Sec 2 positions or whatever York calls them. I hade them get mixed up on a York and it gives you a reverse polarity code. Carefully read the markings on the board and wiring diagram to make sure he did not switch them up.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 05:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Twinning Issue


on the slave air handler he is not using the 24v from the transformer because he is getting his 24v from the master airhandler. He said that was the way it was wired originally
a.man1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:55 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,612
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

Twinning Issue


The slave air handler still has it's own circuit board and 24 volt transformer. It just gets a signal from the primary one instead of it's own tstat. Has to have a board and transformer to operate.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 09:52 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Twinning Issue


Usually, the second furnace still has its own transformer. Its just there is a wire added to go from each twin terminal.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 10:15 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,612
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

Twinning Issue


If your tech/ co-worker was guessing or doing the parts changer routine and did not hook up the wires from the transformer to the new board properly then that may be the issue. I would check his wiring first.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 03:32 AM   #7
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 592
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Twinning Issue


Was this twinned setup operating correctly initially?
You may need to move one furnace breaker one space down.
Both furnaces must be on the same bus bar.

Last edited by Houston204; 07-27-2014 at 03:40 AM.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:15 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Twinning Issue


According to him, when he changed out the original board that is the way it was wired. He is saying that the he doesn't need the 24v from the transformer for the slave because he's only using one T-stat and he's getting his 24v from the master. He thinks that he's going to burn the board because he would be getting 2 doses of 24v.
a.man1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:18 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Twinning Issue


HE also said the twin terminal was not being used with the original board.
a.man1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:26 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Twinning Issue


The wiring looks fine except for the fact that he has no low voltage wires connected from the transformer to the board on the slave unit, and he's not using the twin terminals... Like I said according to him that is the way it was wired up when he replaced the board.
a.man1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 12:19 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,612
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

Twinning Issue


Sounds all wrong to me. Transformers are rated in VA which means voltamps which is horsepower for the layman. The slave unit has relays which require amps to work and you do not have extra amps to spare with the transformer in the primary unit. Where is it supposed to get the extra power to handle another board and load?

He/you should use the twinning terminal. How the heck it ever worked is beyond imagination and both boards could be damaged from working with one overloaded transformer. When it is overloaded the voltage drops and that kills boards.

Twinning just means a communication signal/handshake goes to the slave and tells it what to do. Contact York tech support and see what they have to say or get him to do it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 07-27-2014 at 12:22 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 05:16 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Twinning Issue


Bad twinning set up.

Disconnect the wires from the other furnace. Connect the transformer, and see if you get the same error.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 09:01 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Twinning Issue


Well I told him to forget how it was previously wired and sent him a link to help him out.
York Central Tech Talk http://yorkcentraltechtalk.wordpress.com/?s=twinning

Hopefully it will help him out.
a.man1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 10:55 PM   #14
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,612
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

Twinning Issue


I see ALL kinds of crap that got done over the years and how it runs is beyond comprehension. Sometimes it is best to rip the wiring out and start back the way it was from the factory and what they recommend rather than waste time figuring out how the wrong setup worked.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 10:41 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Twinning Issue


Agreed... Thanks for all your responses... I am waiting to hear back from the tech. who was working on it.

a.man1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XR90 issue jasun HVAC 7 10-08-2012 06:18 PM
HVAC condensor fan outside intermittant wheelsup HVAC 21 05-24-2012 10:25 AM
Westinghouse furnace issue joe8918 HVAC 9 12-04-2011 05:50 PM
how to reduce mositure issue on basement? diy001 Building & Construction 0 10-28-2011 12:44 PM
Perplexing AC issue AvalonGirl HVAC 22 08-17-2011 06:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.