Twinned Trane XE80 Issues - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2008, 10:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Twinned Trane XE80 issues


I have two trane XE80s that are twinned. The secondary one stopped working. Looking at the flashing lights shows that there is no call for heat on the second one. I swapped the control boards so I know that the basic functions work. How can I test to see if the correct voltages are being supplied/applied for the twinning circuits?

Advertisement

pconrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 04:33 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Twinned Trane XE80 issues


Need a multimeter.

How are they twinned. Which wiring method was used.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 10:25 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Twinned Trane XE80 issues


They are twinned with the single wire method. (It actually uses two.)
1 wire connects each Twin lead, and the other connects the G lead.
pconrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 12:12 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Twinned Trane XE80 issues


How is the heat controled, if there is no wire hooked to the R???

Without a wire of some kind hooked to teh red, it won't have a heat call.

The twin terminal is to sycronize the blower speeds.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 12:55 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Twinned Trane XE80 issues


Whoops! They are connected with the Twin and the W lead like the doc in the link shows.
I don't see an isolation transformer in my system.

http://www.trane.com/CPS/uploads/use...8_06172008.pdf
pconrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 01:04 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Twinned Trane XE80 issues


If they are on the same breaker in the box, its not needed.
If they aren't its needed.

Sometimes, a system needs the isolation relay. But the installer doesn't use one. And they work for years. And then just stop working.

You need amultimeter/voltmeter, to see what, if any voltage is at the W terminal, of the working and non working unit.

May be that the thermostat can't handle the load, anymore.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 09:07 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Twinned Trane XE80 issues


It was much simpler than that. While checking voltages, I found a broken wire. Once that was repaired, the system came back to life.

Thank you for your time.
pconrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 12:26 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

Twinned Trane XE80 issues


Your welcome.

Meters, they save a lot of duessing.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XE80 not(?) hot enough rossl56 HVAC 5 11-28-2008 03:34 AM
Trane XE80 (Pressure Switch Indicator Err) cherande HVAC 7 09-25-2008 01:02 AM
Trane XE80 Heating Question, Please help!!! Stephen1977 HVAC 3 01-30-2007 07:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts