Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2007, 08:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Turning down furnace burners?


Hi All.

I have a Carrier furnace, 1985, model #58SSB080-BC. It appears to have an electronic ignition.

I feel like the outlet pressure is too high. It makes quite a roar when it comes on and my heating bills are $200 per month. I feel like there is a lot of waste heat going up the flue which is not captured by the heat exchanger.

My question is can the gas pressure be turned down?

The furnace has a valve which allows the inlet and outlet pressure to be adjusted. It has min and max pressures printed on the label. It also has a high and low setting of some sort.

Or, what about restricting the flow via the shutoff valve on the gas line?

Thanks.

Squire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 09:55 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,857
Default

Turning down furnace burners?


Repeat after me "I WILL NOT DO IT MYSELF." After that is said and done, call the furnace guy.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 10:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Turning down furnace burners?


I did some reading on the Carrier webpage and it looks like only a small adjustment can be made with the valve screws. Larger adjustments would require burners with a smaller orifice.

Could you be more specific about what the issues are here? I'm a mechanical engineer so I may be able to understand. Just trying to be educated on the topic before I call in the pros.

Thanks.
Squire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2007, 08:53 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Turning down furnace burners?


Adjusting the gas pressure below recommended settings can lead to delayed ignition or incomplete carryover between the burners on startup. This will result in a mild explosion or booming sound coming from the furnace. Another issue you may have is a stack temperature that is not warm enough. Problems caused by this are lack of draft and / or byproducts of combustion condensing to liquid before the gas is exhausted. One byproduct of combustion is a mild form of hydrochloric acid which can lead to premature failure of flue pipe or heat exchanger. I would not recommend adjusting the gas pressure or derating the furnace with orifice change as either can cause a problem.
shortyshvac.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
Whirlpool Furnace - Burners cycle every 10 to 20 Seconds agtsrbt HVAC 3 02-06-2007 04:39 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM
Furnace stops working once a day - help Da_Bears HVAC 2 01-26-2006 01:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.