Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2008, 01:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

TSTAT changeout help


I am swapping out TAYSTAT 575 for a Honeywell TB7220 some wiring is straight forward but some I am not sure of I have a LXi14 heat pump with a XL 90 gas furnace for backup Wires on current tstat; The W and X2 are tied together on original Tstat.


TAYSTAT 575 TB7220
R-Red C-Blue W1-?
Y1-yellow G-Green Y2-?
W-White Y-yellow A-?
X2- Black O/B-Orange S1-?
O-Orange RC-Tied w/red S2-?
G-Green R-red
C-Blue


Not sure where the White, Black should go on this tstat. Any help would be appreciated.

walker45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 09:57 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

TSTAT changeout help


Please repost which wire colors are attached to which terminals on that TAYSTAT 575. You map is confusing.

dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 10:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default

TSTAT changeout help


yes your map is very confusing. The TB7220 stat is a commercial stat.
S1/S2 are for your outdoor sensor. (which in your case you will need so you can lock out your heatpump when the outdoor temp is low.)
W1 is in your case gas heat
y2 is 2nd stage cooling
A is for the econimizer which I'am pretty sure you don't have.
If you repost your wiring we could help you a little more.
bervin306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 09:51 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

TSTAT changeout help


I have a Heat Pump with Gas Backup

TAYSTAT 575
O-Orange
R-Red
C-Blue
G-Green
Y-Yellow
W1-2 Wires Black Wire And White Wire




The C,G,Y,O/B I matched to the old tstat

TB7220 Tstat
C-blue
Y-Yellow
O/B-Orange
G-Green
W1-?
Y2-?
A-?
S1-?
S2-?
walker45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 11:38 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

TSTAT changeout help


Y2 - nothing, unless you have a two stage heat pump
A - nothing, unless you have an economizer which as mentioned we doubt
S1- outdoor sensor, which you should put in
S2- outdoor sensor


Since that XL90 is a two stage furnace your old stat was always bringing on both stages in aux heat mode, hence the two wires. So you can wire it up as before

W1- 2 Wires Black Wire And White Wire

Or take full advantage of that furnace and get a tstat that has two stage aux heat. If it was me I'd do that.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 01:31 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

TSTAT changeout help


Thanks for the response if I were to get a tstat to control the 2 stage furnace what would I gain not sure what the 2nd stage does, also if I switch tstats can the TB7220 be used on my upstairs unit it is a straight Heat Pump with Strips and AC. Would this be a good tstat for it it has the same wiring configuration. Now I am wondering if my furnace is wired right I included a picture of the board mounted on the side of the furnace does this tell you anything and what i need to do to get the most out of the second stage of my furnace. Let me know what I need to do this board was replace in the spring different style board problem with the other one, can't remember if furnace changes stages or not is there a way I can test to see


TAYSTAT 575
O-Orange
R-Red
C-Blue
G-Green
Y-Yellow
W1-2 Wires Black Wire And White Wire
Attached Thumbnails
TSTAT changeout help-img00047.jpg  

Last edited by walker45; 12-04-2008 at 01:48 PM. Reason: Adding Picture
walker45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 03:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

TSTAT changeout help


I am assuming your tstat wires come in from the right of that pic? If so, it looks like the black is not going to the W2 as I had thought. You can see the white going to W1-First Stage heat, but where is the black?

You may need to follow all wires out to the HP and post back their colors and terminals they're hooking to.

Yes, you should be able to use this tstat upstairs on a regular HP with aux heat strip.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 08:46 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

TSTAT changeout help


The wires going to Tstat are going out on the right. When the picture was taken the Black wire is unhooked and contractor told me to connect it with White wire, then I found out it is not letting my second stage come in as it should. When I get a good tstat that will work should it be one that does 3 heat stages or 2 Heat stages and where should the Black wire go E or W2
walker45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 11:55 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

TSTAT changeout help


Quote:
Originally Posted by walker45 View Post
The wires going to Tstat are going out on the right. When the picture was taken the Black wire is unhooked and contractor told me to connect it with White wire, then I found out it is not letting my second stage come in as it should. When I get a good tstat that will work should it be one that does 3 heat stages or 2 Heat stages and where should the Black wire go E or W2
Having the black and white wire hooked to the same terminal at the tstat and then again at the board is redundant.

Yes, I would use the black to run your second stage aux.

Good question on where to put the black wire on E or W2, and what tstat to use.

I'd have to research the board/air handler to know what energizing each of those does by contacting the manufacturer or getting some documentation. Same for the tstat - be sure first and second stage aux will come on as you expect. Ultimately, the tstat and board must agree.

I'd look for a tstat like this White Rodgers 1F57.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 10:25 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default

TSTAT changeout help


Posted pics of the boards on my system don't think it is wired for second stage not sure what needs to be changed to accomplish this I will post pics of tstat, fossil board and furnace board with wiring. sent this awhile ago but did't see it posted so I am resending it. Thanks foro any help I can get with this my goal was to add a programmable tstat and have found my system may not be set up as it should be to get full benefit of it.
Attached Thumbnails
TSTAT changeout help-img00047-1.jpg   TSTAT changeout help-p1040830-1.jpg   TSTAT changeout help-p1040838-1.jpg  

walker45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 questions - tstat and humidifier CowboyAndy HVAC 14 11-14-2008 03:30 PM
How much swing to set on digital tstat KE2KB HVAC 12 10-23-2008 03:29 PM
New hunter 44860 tstat mndevildog HVAC 1 07-16-2008 09:24 AM
Tstat bad or what walker45 HVAC 1 03-10-2008 09:54 PM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.