Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 07:45 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


Ok I ran only the red and common wire from the heat pump to power the EIM and reconnected the common to the relay and W (since the heat pump isnt hooked up right now) and changed the setting for only heat and it kicked the boiler on in the test menu.

The old thermostat was wire as:

Thermostat--------Color-------Heat Pump
R/Rc---------------Red-------------R/BK
G-----------------Green----------- G
O/B (W)-----------Orange---------- O
Y-----------------Yellow----------- Y
C-----------------Blue------------- B
E/AUX(W2/Y2)----Black------------ W1/W2

I wired the new thermostat as:

EIM---------------Color-------Heat Pump(4TEE3F31B1000A Trane air handler)
R/Rc/Rh-----------Red-------------R
G-----------------Green---------- G
W----------------Orange--------- O
Y-----------------Yellow--------- Y
C------------------Blue---------- B (also to relay for boiler)
W2----------------Black--------- W1/W2
Dehumd-----------White--------- BK
W3---------------Red------------Relay coil for boiler

Do you know if this would be right? or should other wires be jumpered or unjumpered?

6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:51 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,578
Rewards Points: 2,836
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


Does your air handler have electric aux heat in it. If not. Then the boiler can connect to W2.

If it does have electric aux heat, then the boiler is third stage heat. As it wired now.

But the wiring as you have it posted, is correct if you have electric aux heat, and want to use it also.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:55 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


yeah it has electric heat. I will be able to use all 3 heats? heat pump/Electric Aux heat/boiler without any other modifications?
6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 08:01 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,578
Rewards Points: 2,836
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


Quote:
Originally Posted by 6burgh View Post
yeah it has electric heat. I will be able to use all 3 heats? heat pump/Electric Aux heat/boiler without any other modifications?

Yep.

But. If you lock out the heat pump at some outdoor temp. The electric aux will be first stage, and the boiler will be second stage. Meaning that the electric will be doing most of the heating.

I set up most systems like that. With the electric aux only used for tempering the air during defrost(I don't wire it to the EIM). And bring the boiler on as second stage heat(wire it to W2).
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 08:16 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


I am gonna try wiring the heat pump wires backup tomorrow. Do these settings look good?
0165-0
0172-2
0173-0
0174-1
0176-3
0180-0
0190-0
0200-1
0210-0
0220-3
0230-(?)
0240-3
0250-3
0260-3
0310-3
0342-1 (have outdoor sensor hooked up)
0345-1
0346-1
0347-2
0350-35
0360-35
0365-0
0370-1
0372-0
0379-1 (wired from dehumd to BK)
0383-1

Sorry to be a pain in your butt the help is much appreciated!!!!!!!!!
6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 08:26 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


Quote:
Yep.

But. If you lock out the heat pump at some outdoor temp. The electric aux will be first stage, and the boiler will be second stage. Meaning that the electric will be doing most of the heating.
Ok I guess the thermostat isn't what I thought then. So the setting 0346 is what controls this?

Quote:

I set up most systems like that. With the electric aux only used for tempering the air during defrost(I don't wire it to the EIM). And bring the boiler on as second stage heat(wire it to W2).
I might consider this if it is easy to do? I don't really want to use the electric unless absolutely necessary unless for a short time. I wanted it as a backup for the backup. LOL

Last edited by 6burgh; 11-12-2010 at 08:28 PM.
6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 08:32 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,578
Rewards Points: 2,836
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


You only have 2 aux stages of heat. Your electric strips are 1 stage, and the boiler is the second stage.

You must have selected a 3 heat 2 cool system. You don't have a second stage cool.

Your lock out temps are semi incorrect. 360 should be set to a higher temp then 350 is set to(try 5 degrees higher).
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 08:35 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,578
Rewards Points: 2,836
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


Quote:
Originally Posted by 6burgh View Post
Ok I guess the thermostat isn't what I thought then. So the setting 0346 is what controls this?

I might consider this if it is easy to do? I don't really want to use the electric unless absolutely necessary unless for a short time. I wanted it as a backup for the backup. LOL
Just switch it to W3, and the boiler to W2 then.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 06:46 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


I finally got a chance to wire up the thermostat again. It seems to be working right for heat now!! Thank you!!
6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 06:47 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


Quote:
I set up most systems like that. With the electric aux only used for tempering the air during defrost(I don't wire it to the EIM). And bring the boiler on as second stage heat(wire it to W2).
Will wiring the electric aux heat to W3 on the EIM do this?
6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 07:18 PM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,578
Rewards Points: 2,836
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


That will make it 3rd stage heat. And will bring it on when the IAQ determines that the boiler is at 90% capacity of the homes heat loss. Or if you set the stat 2 degrees higher then room temp. unless you set the aux heat lock outs.

If you want to connect the electric aux to W3. Make sure you use smart recovery(adaptive intelligent) so as not to bring on the electric strips during recovery, more then need be.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 08:21 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chambersburg, PA
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Trying to wire Honeywell IAQ to Burnham RSM/96 oil boiler


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
That will make it 3rd stage heat. And will bring it on when the IAQ determines that the boiler is at 90% capacity of the homes heat loss. Or if you set the stat 2 degrees higher then room temp. unless you set the aux heat lock outs.

If you want to connect the electric aux to W3. Make sure you use smart recovery(adaptive intelligent) so as not to bring on the electric strips during recovery, more then need be.
Oh ok, You said you don't wire it to the EIM. Is heat pump made to automatically use the electric heat without any additional wiring for defrost? I assume that means when the outdoor unit gets too cold the electric heat covers till the outside unit is working again?

6burgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation of Honeywell Thermostat - cooling function KDW Electrical 0 10-04-2009 09:56 AM
Burnham V7 series oild-fired boiler is turning itself off Pickngrin HVAC 6 01-12-2009 08:26 PM
Boiler w. Hydronic Air & Honeywell Aquastat DanA28 HVAC 1 01-08-2009 04:21 PM
Burnham boiler T&P gauge Joe F HVAC 7 11-25-2008 06:07 PM
Burnham Boiler Rschrei518 HVAC 16 12-22-2007 08:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.