Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2010, 11:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

trying to Replace Wirsbo DT10 T-Stat


I have an older DT10 thermostat that will only display 'lo' and will not turn the heat off, unless switched off entirely. It is referenced that these thermostats scavenge the 24V power from an inline transformer. What options do I have out there other than ordering a newer WT1 from the US? Is there any t-stat I can get from home depot (or similar) that will wire right up to the existing 2 wires? Thanks, cc

carboncopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 05:19 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

trying to Replace Wirsbo DT10 T-Stat


T87N, or a T87K should work. Their both power stealing.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
carboncopy (11-10-2010)
Old 11-10-2010, 08:08 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,328
Rewards Points: 1,022
Blog Entries: 1
Default

trying to Replace Wirsbo DT10 T-Stat


any heating only tstat will work or a conventional stat with a/c will work too, only wire to r and w
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
carboncopy (11-10-2010)
Old 11-10-2010, 11:48 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

trying to Replace Wirsbo DT10 T-Stat


hvactech, I ended up replacing it before your reply, but was not overly interested in the 2 beenthere suggested. I found out that as long as it is a 24v thermostat it would work. I believe any of the millivolt thermostats will not work though.

Anyway, I found a nice looking cheap 24v one, and connected it, and working great so far.

Thanks for the help.

cc
carboncopy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 04:27 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

trying to Replace Wirsbo DT10 T-Stat


Becarefull of using the phrase millivolt thermostat.

There are thermostats that are designed for millivolt systems. A millivolt system, is a powerpile system.

A power stealing thermostat, steals/robs/uses millivolts. And can't be used on a millivolt system.

If you use a millivolt thermostat, on a 24 volt system. The thermostat won't last long. Just a FYI for you and future readers of this thread.


Glad you got it working.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Must I replace the coil when I replace the outside condenser unit? plichtenstein HVAC 5 08-24-2010 03:41 PM
When to replace a furnace? stanlam HVAC 3 07-20-2010 08:21 PM
Replacement Thermostat Problem! Confuserated HVAC 8 03-26-2010 09:17 AM
Need Advice ASAP. New home, seller is paying to replace roof elpa Roofing/Siding 4 02-18-2010 08:03 PM
LUX digital stat Trane XE80 intermittant problem rossl56 HVAC 6 12-26-2008 06:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.