Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2010, 08:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Trying to install new thermostat


I'm completely lost here. Why aren't these things standardized??

Anyway, I don't know my system type. I know my airhandler is a Goodman ARUF.

The current thermostat:
E - Brown
Y - Yellow
O - Orange
W2 - White
R - Red
G - Green

C & B are un-used.

There's a blue wire tucked back into the wall.

The thermostat I'm looking at has:
W, Y, G, B, O, Rc, Rh, and C. The R's are jumpered together.

For this, does W2 just go into the new W? And then I'm missing a slot for the E wire.
And I've still got that mystery blue wire in the wall hole.

Can anyone help out? Or at least point me to figuring out my AC/Heat setup, a tstat that works with it, etc.

Thank you all in advance.
Jeff240sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 06:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Trying to install new thermostat


Sounds like you have a heat pump with back up elements and the new stat isn't compatable.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 06:50 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,481
Default

Trying to install new thermostat


Post brand and model number of new thermostat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 07:32 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Trying to install new thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Post brand and model number of new thermostat.
It's the Lux TS9000TS programmable. A Lux digital is currently hooked up.
Jeff240sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 11:06 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,481
Default

Trying to install new thermostat


That thermostat is not compatible with heat pumps that have aux heat.

The W has to be jumpered to the Y. To make the heat pump run in heat mode. So you would not have aux heat when you need it.
Look for a thermostat that is listed as for use on heat pumps with aux heat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat wiring question sob HVAC 11 10-21-2009 10:31 AM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 10:07 PM
Thermostat wiring jetmanaz HVAC 1 08-09-2009 07:13 PM
Thermostat from Manual to Digital trinamillersmit HVAC 5 07-02-2009 09:21 AM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.