Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2012, 09:37 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Trunk line design in Attic


Contractor started on HVAC install today and told me best location for trunkline is near apex of roof line in middle of attic, taking up 18" of my precious 111" total attic height. This unit is for downstairs. Attic conversion will be at end of 2012. At this time, a 2nd Unit will be installed for attic itself. Attic is currently not insulated and not vented. Intend to use spray foam at end of the year.
My question: Since the duct will start at this apex and shoot out parallel and next to the uninsulated roof, would it not take on heat in summer and cold in winter, making my AC costs higher? I asked contractor to come up with alternatives but they said this is the best way and that the impact if any will not be noticeable in my bill. Is the contractor correct?
Newbie7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 03:04 PM   #2
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Default

Trunk line design in Attic


If it is designed correctly for an unconditioned space should have little impact on operating cost. There are materials designed for that application
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,138
Default

Trunk line design in Attic


That's the way it's supposed to be installed unless you have a crawlspace or basement. If you do he could install the equipment there and leave the attic alone if your going to complete attic renovations in a couple years.
COLDIRON is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Trunk line design in Attic


I'd suggest getting the foam done first. The way you are doing it the duct needs to be insulated because it's an unconditioned space. Once the roof deck is foamed then your attic can be classified as a conditioned space. No sense paying for insulation twice and foaming the roof will be a whole lot easier without duct in the way.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attic project - Would like opinions whataboutj Insulation 6 06-29-2011 03:07 PM
replacing entire trunk line BlueBSH HVAC 1 11-15-2010 05:26 PM
New 22' Trunk Line unixb0y HVAC 48 06-18-2010 04:52 AM
Powered Attic Fan question spup345 Roofing/Siding 9 06-30-2008 08:10 PM
attic ventilation design help Noreaster Roofing/Siding 15 04-30-2008 08:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.