Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2010, 10:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

TrueSteam Installation


I am trying to get my 12 gallon Honeywell TrueSteam humidifier working here at my house. I have a TrueIAQ controller for the humidifier and a Honeywell RTH7500D for my thermostat. The wirings are:

IAQ to Truesteam : Hum to Hum (2), R and C (24V).
Thermostat to TrueSteam : G to GT
Truesteam to HVAC : GF to G
Thermostat to HVAC : R, W, Y and R and RC is jumpered in the thermostat.

I am unable to run the humidifier via using Fan or heat control. The only way I get it go is by setting it independent of the above two. (ISU setting on 25 to 3 on TrueIAQ). I can get the humidifer to turn on when I set ISU 25 to 2 , but the fan does not kick on).

What am I missing?. I would like the humidifier to turn on only when there is heat.

abasak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 11:40 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

TrueSteam Installation


make sure no wire insulation is under the screw terminals.

Do you have a wire running from the stats W to the IAQ's W.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

TrueSteam Installation


Looked at all the wiring again and they look fine. All wiring do not have insulation in the screw terminals.

Connected the W between the thermostat and IAQ. Then ran the IAQ with setting 0 on 25 and the humidifier does not kick on. Then I tried 1 and 2 for 25 on the IAQ. Nothing happens in 1 but in 2 the humidifier did kick in ( heating was previously running ). After a while when the heat reached the target and the fan also stopped a while later. But the humidifier kept on working. I do not want this situation where I do not have any sort of air circulation and the humidifier keeps on chugging.

Any ideas.....?
abasak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:27 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

TrueSteam Installation


Where is the R and C of the IAQ hooked at on the furnace/air handler?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:30 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

TrueSteam Installation


Is the factory jumper from R to RT missing.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

TrueSteam Installation


  • Jumper R to RT on the truesteam is present.
  • R & C of IAQ is connected to the 24V on the TrueSteam. That is what the drawings say. ( Page 20, option 2 on the Installation guide) .There is no connection of R & C of IAQ to the HVAC directly.
  • The R & C on the TrueSteam is connected to the R & C on the HVAC

Last edited by abasak; 01-03-2010 at 01:01 PM.
abasak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:30 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

TrueSteam Installation


Ooops. meant the R and C of the Truesteam.
And you are not using a pressure switch in the common wire to the HVAC and Truesteam?

Did you check to make sure its sensing voltage from the air handler/furnace.

What brand and model number is your HVAC unit.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 02:03 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

TrueSteam Installation


  • I do not have a pressure switch installed and C from HVAC is connected to C on Truesteam.
  • HVAC is Rheem RGDJ-12EARJ
  • As far as sensing goes what pins do I check on the Truesteam for the same?. 24V to the IAQ is there......

Last edited by abasak; 01-03-2010 at 02:39 PM.
abasak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 03:01 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

TrueSteam Installation


If you want it to run with the heat. Then on the IAQ, the W should read 24 volts when checked to C of the IAQ during a heat call.

If you want it to run when the fan is turned on by the thermostat. Then the IAQ G to C should read 34 volts when the stat runs the fan.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 10:36 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

TrueSteam Installation


How do you check W and G on IAQ?. They run from the stat to the IAQ. In order for me to reach the pins, I have to remove the IAQ controller. When I remove the controller all of them loose power !!.
abasak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 04:38 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

TrueSteam Installation


Check to see if the terminals on the Truesteam are receiving voltage.

I miss typed it in the other post.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 05:32 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Default

TrueSteam Installation


Beenthere, thanks a lot for your help.

I contacted Honeywell support and they helped me figure out the root cause.......

  • I was not hooked up to a dedicated 12A circuit. I had it hooked up to a 15A circuit that was shared by the furnace and the true steam. Although I was able to make it work partially in this mode and it never occurred to me that I needed a dedicated line as the circuit breaker never tripped. Once I had a dedicated circuit, everything works as per the wiring that I mentioned in the initial post. The fan turns on whenever I need humidity.
  • In order to make it turn on using the furnace/heat the support guy suggested that I need to hook up the R&C from the IAQ directly to the furnace and have W connected between the stat ...have to try that out.
abasak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 06:01 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default

TrueSteam Installation


Stumbled onto this thread, which happens to be the exact same issue I am struggling with. Really appreciate the comments and instructions from the contributors here. Per the final post, I ran the unit directly into a 15A outlet, with no success here. It is amazing that the unit will only "partially run" if you don't have a dedicated circuit.

One question came up when I was rereading the manuals: The IAQ manual states that "pin R - 24V supply "must be common to G output"", what does that mean ? I just attached two wires from the two IAQ power inputs (R and C) to the two Trusteam 24V terminals. Is there more to it ?

Thanks for any help.

Cliffschum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honeywell TrueSTEAM Installation OldCountry HVAC 26 12-13-2009 06:26 PM
Honeywell TrueSteam with Carrier Infinity Control Llama HVAC 1 02-19-2009 04:20 PM
Konecto Installation Tidbit jennydavis Flooring 9 01-06-2009 12:19 AM
Honeywell TrueSteam Humidifier? kcrossley2 HVAC 3 12-01-2008 03:22 PM
Aluminum Soffit and Fascia Installation... MoparAutoworks Building & Construction 1 12-17-2006 07:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.