Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 08:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Troubleshooting a digital thermostat


I was having some trouble with an old digital thermostat so I replaced it with a new Honeywell programmable. I followed all installation instructions, and initially the new thermostat seemed to be working fine, but now it seems as if the thermostat is not controlling the heat in the zone. The baseboards in the zone controlled by the thermostat are constantly pumping out heat, even when I turn off the thermostat. Any suggestions for a fix would be greatly appreciated.
Cbots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 10:43 PM   #2
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,473
Default

Troubleshooting a digital thermostat


It could be a faulty thermostat.. disconnect the thermostat to see if the overheating zone shuts of.
or
The thermostat wires may be crossed and bared somewhere between the stat and the boiler

But probably the
the zone valve may be stuck open. Try turning off the power to the boiler to see if the zone valve manually closes again. Compare the manual operating levers of the zone valves with the problem one. This alone may unfreeze it but is only temporary and the motor will eventually do it again.

Last edited by how; 03-24-2013 at 10:51 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (03-25-2013), hvactech126 (03-25-2013)
Old 03-25-2013, 06:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 263
Default

Troubleshooting a digital thermostat


You didn't say what the issues were with the original thermostat so I will assume those issues had nothing to do with the zone overheating.

Always start with the very last thing that was done. Check the wires connecting to the thermostat to make sure none are touching or being pinched over the top of one another.
old_squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:05 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

Troubleshooting a digital thermostat


is it wires to a zone panel, or a zone valve? As above, what was the old thermostat doing that you changed it out.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 11:01 PM   #5
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,328
Default

Troubleshooting a digital thermostat


When installing a new thermostat your best is to go with one which matches your zone values. Example i have white rogers zone n flow values and white rogers thermostat to control. There not digital either.
747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a Digital Thermostat lostdog HVAC 4 09-01-2010 04:11 AM
Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove jrodtaclet Electrical 4 09-15-2009 05:37 PM
Thermostat from Manual to Digital trinamillersmit HVAC 5 07-02-2009 09:21 AM
Replace Condo's 2 wire mechanical thermostat with digital thermostat kat83 HVAC 4 06-02-2008 03:44 PM
Replace Condo's 2 wire mechanical thermostat with digital thermostat kat83 Electrical 2 05-22-2008 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.