Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2011, 09:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Troubles with HVAC


Everything was fine then we went and changed out the thermostat
Put in a Hunter
Programed it and AC worked. Switched to heat and it blew the transformer.
Friend changed it and put in a breaker so it could not happen again.
Switched to AC yesterday and it blew the transformer again.

So now it's cooled down to the 60s and No heat or AC

What could cause this problem.

Need to find a transformer and fix it so this does not happen again.

Thanks for any help

DestructionDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 11:26 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 26
Default

Troubles with HVAC


Not a whole lot of info here to work with but I'd think you have mis-wired the stat or maybe purchased the wrong type of stat. Do you have a common wire connected to the stat that might be providing a path to ground? Is it on the correct terminal? Try and give the model of the stat and what terminals you have the wires connected too and we can start from there. It's always a good idea to put an inline fuse on the 24V side of the transformer (3 Amp will usually do to start with). Most automotive stores sell inline fuse holders for the fuses just like you put in your car.

college A/C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 02:03 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Troubles with HVAC


Its a Intertherm furnace with Goodman heat pump/AC
Hunter 44860 thermostat I think this is the problem Change from a old mercury thermostat

Everything is wired correct. 7 wires but blue is caped in the furnace
The are hooked up like
Red R/C R/H jumped Green,G White,W2 Yellow,Y1 Blue,C Orange,O Brown,E


My buddy works for a HVAC company he tested it the first time.
No wires have been changed.
J put in a 3.2A fuse on the blue wire 24v side and that did not stop it.
I just hate to ask for more favors.

Last edited by DestructionDan; 03-02-2011 at 02:06 PM.
DestructionDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 06:48 PM   #4
hillbilly guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: tn/south east/s.e.c country
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to hvacguytn615
Default

Troubles with HVAC


try removing tstat after you replace transformer.hook red green yellowand orange together this should bring system on in ac if this works hook red white yellowand green this will be heat mode with out aux heat strip then hook red to brown and green this will be aux heat if you dont blow the fuse or transformer then the short is in the t-stat if you do blow fuse during one of these steps replace fuse start thouching the wires together one at a time this is the easyest way to isolate a short
hvacguytn615 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 09:37 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Troubles with HVAC


Just want to make sure everything is right before I hook up the power to the transformer
The sec: wires are yellow blue
The blue wire has the 3.2a fuse . Then red to the stat and goodman
The yellow wire has 2 wires hooked to it.
Goes to the orange and orange wires to feed the stat and goodman
The other goes to what I think is a relay that feeds the left side of the e heat element

Does J have the fuse on the correct side. The fuse should have went before the transformer is why I ask.
DestructionDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 10:24 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Texas
Posts: 26
Default

Troubles with HVAC


Did you just say the yellow wire from the transformer is connected directly to the orange comming from your stat? The orange wire is for your reversing valve if I read your post right where you had it connected to the "O" terminal. If the blue wire is connected to the red wire going to the stat then your yellow wire is ground or neutral.
college A/C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:07 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Troubles with HVAC


This may sound strange but it's what I see.
The yellow 24v out is connected to a black with white stripe with and a yellow wire.
That black with white is connected to a block in the furnace that looks to be the element
The yellow goes to a male female plug that turns black and goes to the orange wires that
go to the stat and a brown wire that I would think goes to the goodman outside.

Forgot to say that the heat and eheat worked fine all winter.
The problem came when I turned over to AC

Last edited by DestructionDan; 03-03-2011 at 01:11 PM.
DestructionDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:01 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Troubles with HVAC


If any of the pros know how to help please pm me your phone # and I will call you.
Don't have any extra cash or I would paypal ya very tight right now.
DestructionDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:25 PM   #9
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Troubles with HVAC


Take a picture
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:27 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

Troubles with HVAC


From your wiring description. Its wired wrong.

Go to your outdoor unit. Write down what color wires are connected to what in the outdoor unit. then go to the indoor unit, and write down what wires from the outdoor unit are connected to what in the indoor unit.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:52 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Troubles with HVAC


I was mistaken the blue to the stat is used goes to the Green on the goodman
But the blue to the goodman is not used.
At the outside Goodman
Wire to stat Wire to goodman
Blue not used
Orange Grey
Yellow Yellow
Red Red
Green Orange
White & Brown White

At the Furnace
24v Blue Fues 2 red to the stat and AC
Yellow Element and both orange

To the stat outside
Blue Green
Yellow Yellow
Brown Brown
Red Red & the other side of the element ******
Orange Orange
White White and yellow 24v
Green goes to the element above the black wire from Y24v
DestructionDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 05:37 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Troubles with HVAC


Try again. Use the color of wire and specify what terminal it hooks up to and where. Color to color doesn't tell us anything since we cant see where those wires are connected.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 05:40 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Troubles with HVAC


I give up I dont know anything about hvac color is all I can tell you
Maybe pics will help
http://i638.photobucket.com/albums/u...n/100_1474.jpg
http://i638.photobucket.com/albums/u...n/100_1473.jpg

Last edited by DestructionDan; 03-03-2011 at 06:09 PM.
DestructionDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 06:55 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

Troubles with HVAC


Both units will have a wiring legend. Telling you what its color wire is/does. Without that, we can't help you, and you will either need to have your friend back out(who has it wired wrong) or call a contractor. Or burn up some parts by trial and error costing more money yet.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 09:46 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Troubles with HVAC


one make sure the wires are right on tstat.. if the transformer is blowing over and over then whats happening is that high voltage is back feeding through the transformer. this could be actually from the contactor out side on your ac unit out side welding its self together. as far as the wiring of the transformer it looked right to me if color went to color but i would have to see pic of the transformer it self and the fan relay and heat sequencer to totaly be sure.

chaseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ductless Mini Split Install - need HVAC Tech! mike_30319 HVAC 13 03-30-2011 06:18 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 07:28 AM
Estimate for Basement HVAC in New Construction jb_nc HVAC 4 07-29-2009 11:48 AM
Engineered Joists & holes for HVAC ducts walt1122 Building & Construction 3 07-04-2009 07:37 PM
HVAC Upgrade Questions JonC HVAC 8 02-27-2009 05:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.