Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2010, 09:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Suburb of chicago
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 152
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Our furance is 20 years old and needs replacing, the problem is our house is just over 4200SF and the builder did not 2 zone the air and heat we have a 150,000 BTU furance and so far the 2 guys that came over for an estimate says they do not make a high efficientcy furance in that size, one guy said he would try connecting 2 smaller units in parallel (however he never did that before) the other guy wants to redo the duct work and 2 zone it, (way too much $$$, we will never recop that cost ) my question is what can do if we just want to replace furnace with a better one,


Last edited by turbomangt; 09-13-2010 at 04:46 PM.
turbomangt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 10:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Two furnaces with standard blowers can be twinned together easy enough.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 10:39 PM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Yep. and you will probably save a bundle if you go with 95% efficient units.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 04:43 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


A 150,000 BTU input 80% efficient furnace, is 120,000 BTUs output.
A 120,000 BTU input 95% efficient furnace is 114,000 BTUs output. Doubt you'll miss 6,000 BTUs.


A load calc will probably show that a 120,000 95% input furnace is more then enough heat for your house. You can do your own load calc http://hvaccomputer.com/talkref.asp and find out what size you really need.

2 furnaces can be twinned to get the size you need, if it would turn out that you need the full 120,000 BTU output. The new furnaces will have instructions how to twin them. Done right, you'll end up with a nice 2 stage heating system. And probably save a lot of money on your heating bill.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 12:01 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
A 150,000 BTU input 80% efficient furnace, is 120,000 BTUs output.
A 120,000 BTU input 95% efficient furnace is 114,000 BTUs output. Doubt you'll miss 6,000 BTUs.


A load calc will probably show that a 120,000 95% input furnace is more then enough heat for your house. You can do your own load calc http://hvaccomputer.com/talkref.asp and find out what size you really need.

2 furnaces can be twinned to get the size you need, if it would turn out that you need the full 120,000 BTU output. The new furnaces will have instructions how to twin them. Done right, you'll end up with a nice 2 stage heating system. And probably save a lot of money on your heating bill.

Gotta put my two cents in here.
At that size furnace there is no wiggle room. The biggest they come is a 120k. and if for some reason the furnace does not push enough air(some of the 150k furnace came with a 1 hp motor) you won't have any recourse with the 120k even if it has a 1hp blower.

A twined system would be two stage with both blowers going at the same time, but only one furnace working under low demand needs.

This gives more flexibility and does not limit your options as a single system would.

as an example a Nordyn standard 90% at 120k has a 1 hp motor.

Two Nordyne 902% 72k have 3/4 hp.

The reason I am suggesting this route is that the size of the OPs home should have had two furnace on separate duct work from the beginning.

Having seen more than my share of bigger home with only one furnace.
I can say the duct work in every case did not distribute well, which is the reason two systems were needed on separate duct systems. The second story of the home was always too warm or too cool.

The twined system has more to offer in correcting the bad air flow.

It reduces electrical consumption on the blowers and only one furnace will run in mild weather with addtional fuel saving.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 09-05-2010 at 12:08 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 12:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Suburb of chicago
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 152
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Thanks guys

Last edited by turbomangt; 09-08-2010 at 01:17 PM.
turbomangt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 01:04 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Quote:
Originally Posted by turbomangt View Post
Great, now who is in chicago that wants to give me an estimate? or if you know someone that would be good also
Just ask around. Call a supply hose and ask them if they can give you the name of a quality contractor.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 02:19 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Gotta put my two cents in here.
At that size furnace there is no wiggle room. The biggest they come is a 120k. and if for some reason the furnace does not push enough air(some of the 150k furnace came with a 1 hp motor) you won't have any recourse with the 120k even if it has a 1hp blower.

A twined system would be two stage with both blowers going at the same time, but only one furnace working under low demand needs.

This gives more flexibility and does not limit your options as a single system would.

as an example a Nordyn standard 90% at 120k has a 1 hp motor.

Two Nordyne 902% 72k have 3/4 hp.

The reason I am suggesting this route is that the size of the OPs home should have had two furnace on separate duct work from the beginning.

Having seen more than my share of bigger home with only one furnace.
I can say the duct work in every case did not distribute well, which is the reason two systems were needed on separate duct systems. The second story of the home was always too warm or too cool.

The twined system has more to offer in correcting the bad air flow.

It reduces electrical consumption on the blowers and only one furnace will run in mild weather with addtional fuel saving.
Lots of "wiggle" room.

A 4200 sq ft house generally doesn't have as much outside wall per sq ft of house, as a smaller 3200 sq ft house. So often the heat loss per sq ft is much lower.

York PS9D20N135UP11 is 127,000 BTU output, and comes with a 1 HP blower motor. So does it 120,000 and 100,000 BTU versions(not saying the OP's house only needs a 100,000 BTU furnace).
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 03:43 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Another idea is that if you upgrade windows and add some attic insulation you may get away with a smaller furnace and save LOTS of Dollaros $$$ and be more comfortable. There may be some home improvement/add insulation grants from your local gov't and or utility co worth finding out about.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 08:47 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Depends if he intends to stay there for a long time and appreciates less drafts and more comfort. Insulation and triple pane low e-argon windows are a wise investment. LOTS of rebates where I am for those improvements so why not take advantage of them. I hear it gets real cold in Chicago at times so those improvements will pay for themselves.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 09-05-2010 at 08:49 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 09:17 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Quote:
Originally Posted by newtech View Post
Maybe soooooo....

But he was asking about a furnace.... Not windows or insulation
True.

But, new windows can cut his heat loss enough that a new smaller furnace can save him enough on his heating bill. that they both pay for themselves in a short time.

Only thinking of a new furnace. Without giving consideration of what can be done to the house to save on heating and cooling cost. is a mistake many make.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 09:29 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Agreed
New windows, doors & sill insulated in basement cut my heating bill in 1/2
Just the 3 basement windows & sill insulated made a huge difference
Cost for the basement maybe $250

I've continued to update the insulation in my house
Added a 250 sq ft sunroom & heating cost still dropped
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 09:58 PM   #13
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Personally I'd go with the twin setup. The nice thing with that is if one furnace breaks down, you have redundancy. It may not be as effective, but it's better then no heat at all. Guessing they need to be wired in a special way so the blowers run at same time though, otherwise you'd just be pushing air in the return of the other furnace if one blower is off, or is there some kind of damper? Would be interesting to see a setup like this. I've been in a house that had two, but never noticed if the ductwork was connected in any way. It may have been two zones.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 10:06 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Quote:
Originally Posted by newtech View Post
Can we stay on topic please....

Furnace replacement.....

Thanks
What is off topic ?
Simply replacing a furnace without looking at ways to cut heating costs is not a good idea
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 10:21 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

In Trouble need 150,000 BTU's


Its all part of a load calc on a house
Right ?

If someone did not take this into account when replacing my system then I'd be stuck with an oversized 130,000 BTU system instead of the 68,000 system my house needs

Like it or not this will come up

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbomangt View Post
I need someone I can trust, referrals welcome, need advice...
Sounds like he asked for advice.....
So he is getting advice

Advice is advice
As long as it is all concerning replacing the furnace
We would be remiss to NOT suggest reducing the heating system he needs
THIS IS ON TOPIC
So STOP repeating to keep on topic

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Furnace: How many btu's for 1500 sqf? lloydb HVAC 12 08-20-2010 03:28 PM
Trouble removing T&P Valve from water heater secutanudu Plumbing 3 04-07-2010 05:35 PM
Btu's and watts Steelhead Electrical 11 01-04-2009 06:23 PM
Help! Circuit breakers in trouble Circuit breakers Electrical 9 12-22-2008 12:58 PM
trouble fitting 4 wires into three demondope Electrical 11 12-28-2007 11:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.