Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2009, 09:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Triple Fuel AH


Is there such a thing as a triple fuel air handler?

Could I get one that has LP and electric along with the HP a coil?

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 09:25 PM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Triple Fuel AH


nope. None up here.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 04:55 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Triple Fuel AH


Not a factory set up.

It can, and has been done though.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 10:05 AM   #4
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Triple Fuel AH


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
nope. None up here.
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA That kills me.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 12:56 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Triple Fuel AH


I was just curious. I had never heard of one either.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 07:15 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Triple Fuel AH


Not to get too far off topic.

Andrew, does your monitoring system, have the ability, to record/monitor the temp difference across the indoor coil only.
During defrost cycles.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 10:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Triple Fuel AH


Are you referring to suction/liquid line temps?

I have a probe on the suction line right before it splits into the A coil, and then the liquid line right as it comes out of the A coil.
I have a probe about 1" from the defrost probe on the outdoor condenser.

Is there another location I should put a probe(s)?

I could add one after the A coil but BEFORE the resistant heat strips.

Further, I am not even sure if there is a benefit to monitor the liquid line temp.
Attached Thumbnails
Triple Fuel AH-defrost-01.png   Triple Fuel AH-defrost-02.jpg  
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest

Last edited by AndrewF; 02-11-2009 at 10:35 PM.
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 04:20 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Triple Fuel AH


Not the line temps.

The air temps.
One before the electric strip heats.

That way, if you know the entering air temp, the leaving air temp, the amount of defrost, and the CFM.
You can calculate, how much heat was removed from the house, during the defrost cycle/cycles.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken Burner Fix mikelbeck HVAC 2 01-16-2009 09:05 PM
Second Furnace for dual fuel AndrewF HVAC 20 01-12-2009 07:40 PM
Add electric heat so suppliment fuel oil? arichard21 HVAC 12 01-13-2008 10:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.