Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-01-2012, 10:08 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Transformer keeps blowing

Hey guys,

Sorry in advance for the long post, but I don't want to miss anything that may be important.

First off, I am no expert when it comes to hvac, or home electrical systems, but I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty

I have a Payne (made by carrier) 3.5 ton system that is only 1.5 years old.

Last week, one of the 120v leads coming into my house from the electric co went bad, and they had to replace it. When I noticed it was bad, the hvac system was only receiving 120v and was trying to come on. I could hear the outside unit "clicking" continuously.

The next day after the electric co had "patched" their lead until they were able to burry new ones, I noticed the compressor wasn't coming on. I replaced the capacitor (matched all specs (45/5uf 370v)) and the outside unit started up like it was supposed to. It ran for about 1 minute, and then the whole system shut down.

I traced the issue back to the transformer fuse (3a) and replaced that, the system started up again and died after another minute. This time the transformer blew but the fuse didn't. I tested the transformer and had no continuity on the load side.

Today I replaced the transformer with a multi-tap one, using orange and white on the primary side for 230v (what the original one used). When I turned the power on to the handler, it started to come on, and then the transformer blew again (I actually saw it flash). Does the polarity on the load side matter? There is a yellow and blue on the new transformer, and my handler has red and brown, with a ground tapped into the brown.