Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2009, 09:21 PM   #16
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Now here is where it gets a little tricky.
First the background: I currently have my cooling set to run at 80% of the dip switch setting speed which is currently 80% of 400 CFM/ton or 320 CFM/ton. I have a 4-ton so I get 1280 CFM. According to my static pressure readings when I run in fan-only I get 50% of my cooling speed or 640 CFM, which is what I would expect since my service facts documents states that the fan is set up to run at 50% of the cooling speed. Now here is the interesting part. The green light blinks 8 solid times suggesting 800CFM (not 640CFM like I expected). My question is, is the green light reacting to my dip switch settings or does it actually monitor actual airflow?

Key1[/quote]

The only avalable settings are 350 / 400 or 450 cfm per ton. You may be reffering to the comfort R setting Re: the 80% air flow.Or do you have a humidistat that drops the blower 20% durring high humidity situations. If you are a 4 ton system at 400 cfm per ton 50% of that is the 800 cfm you are running. Sounds like it is operating ok.

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 09:27 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


What jumper are you uing to get 80% air flow in fan only?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:28 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
What jumper are you uing to get 80% air flow in fan only?
I don't have my log book at work so I am am going by memory but prior to cutting the BK jumper my static was ~1.1 cooling and ~0.53 on the "fan-only" setting....which is 50% of cooling (Dips were set at 400 CFM/ton). After I cut the BK jumper my static dropped on cooling to ~0.77 as expected since the airflow is 80% . Also my static dropped on "fan-only" to ~0.38 (from 0.53) which I beleive is 50% of the 80% (or 40%).

If I want the "fan-only" to run at 80% (same as cooling) I simply jumper Y-G.

Key
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 11:00 AM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Ok.

I thought you were talking aout a dip switch jumper I didn't know about.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 11:31 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnH1 View Post

The only avalable settings are 350 / 400 or 450 cfm per ton.

Actually there are more settings for those in the know

See the attached Trane Pocket guide.

Key1
Attached Thumbnails
Trane XV90 cfm question-trane-comfort-pocket-guide.jpg  
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 01:01 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


I have that guide, and the other one, or back side of it.

Somewhere.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 10:03 PM   #22
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


If you are trying to better controll the constant air flow. I use the TCONT402 with my XV90. It has a BK termonal that you can choose anywere from 35% to 100% air flow.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 06:49 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnH1 View Post
If you are trying to better controll the constant air flow. I use the TCONT402 with my XV90. It has a BK termonal that you can choose anywere from 35% to 100% air flow.
I know......I only found out they existed after I purchased the TCONT803. Also, the 402 is non-programable....not sure why they took the "35-100% airflow" flexibilty out of the supposedly higher scale programable versions like the 803.
Key
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....

Last edited by key1cc; 04-15-2009 at 07:13 AM.
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 01:09 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Quote:
Originally Posted by key1cc View Post

Of course I confirmed the airflow change by measuring static pressure with the Dwyer (Best Hvac tool a DIY'er could have in my opinion ).

Key1
I think I need to get one of those ... (& this scares me to ask this $$) how much do these cost?
Whew! I made it. Glad it's DIY.

I've read some of your HVAC threads. In fact we've conversed
.

Last edited by WhatWasThat?; 04-26-2009 at 01:42 AM.
WhatWasThat? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 06:43 AM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Quote:
Originally Posted by key1cc View Post
I know......I only found out they existed after I purchased the TCONT803. Also, the 402 is non-programable....not sure why they took the "35-100% airflow" flexibilty out of the supposedly higher scale programable versions like the 803.
Key
Probably a cost issue.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 09:20 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatWasThat? View Post
I think I need to get one of those ... (& this scares me to ask this $$) how much do these cost?
Whew! I made it. Glad it's DIY.

I've read some of your HVAC threads. In fact we've conversed
.
I guess you have a different identity on HVAC-Talk. Quite a few people like to have a different identiy for some reason. Not me and BT though .
Here is the link to amazon. When I purchased it it was $60 bucks....price has gone up to $78 through Amazon (I suspect you can find it cheaper elsewhere).
http://www.amazon.com/Dwyer-1-0-Wc-M...755113&sr=8-14

Don't forget the Static pressure tip....you will need that also.

Here is the link for the A303 tip
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_hi...+tip&x=15&y=24

Key1
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 09:30 AM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


If he lives in MD, I think I know who he is on the other site.

I think I edited a few of his post.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 10:44 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Hey, BT
on another note. Do you know of any issues with me using pvc for my fresh air intake instead of metal duct? no one is answering me (so far) on the other site...
__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:03 AM   #29
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,511
Rewards Points: 2,702
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Only question would be if it is large enough for the air volume you need.

And you might have a hard time finding a damper set up for it.

PVC is used as an under ground duct(and on some high velocity systems), so no harm in using it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 12:02 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Trane XV90 cfm question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Only question would be if it is large enough for the air volume you need.

And you might have a hard time finding a damper set up for it.

PVC is used as an under ground duct(and on some high velocity systems), so no harm in using it.
Thanks for the feedback.
I could use a 6 to 4 inch reducer and connect 6 inch metal duct to 4 inch pvc inside the house and put the damper in the 6 inch metal. My concern is that 4 inches might not be quite enough since according to my ductuputer it will flow less than 1/2 the air of 6 inch duct at my static pressures..
I have been unsuccessful finding suitble outdoor 6 inch pipe.....
Key1

__________________
In the land of the blind....the man with one eye is king....
key1cc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 10:17 PM
Trane XE80 Heating Question, Please help!!! Stephen1977 HVAC 3 01-30-2007 06:34 PM
Trane Heat Pump tstat replacement with Honeywell prog - wiring question sep23 HVAC 2 10-20-2006 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.