Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-25-2009, 08:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


Have a 2 yeard old Trane XV80. Came home tonight to run the AC. The red light no longer flashes. Fan won't come on, AC wont come on, heat wont come on. No read light. I can hear trransformer runing inside furnace when I hit the black switch after removing the furnace fan lid where I would normally change the filter.

Is there a reset or something. I unplugged power and plugged back in. The thermostat clicks etc.

KabbyBarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 09:09 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


Quote:
Originally Posted by KabbyBarty View Post
Have a 2 yeard old Trane XV80. Came home tonight to run the AC. The red light no longer flashes. Fan won't come on, AC wont come on, heat wont come on. No read light. I can hear trransformer runing inside furnace when I hit the black switch after removing the furnace fan lid where I would normally change the filter.

Is there a reset or something. I unplugged power and plugged back in. The thermostat clicks etc.

Run A/C ?? how hot is it where you are ?? It's cold here
Check the board for a fuse. I wouldn't think you could hear the ''transformer running''

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 05:17 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,042
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


May be a blown fuse.

Which means you might have a short in the low voltage circuit.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 07:53 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


Where is the fuse on the board?
KabbyBarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 07:56 PM   #5
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


The fuse is a 3 or 5 anp spade fuse. Make sure power to the furnace is off before removing and installing.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 08:12 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


Top left corner

Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 08:28 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


That was it!!!! You guys are the best!!!! AC is up and running for our 90 degree global warming day in Dallas today. Now if I can just start saving up for the higher utility bills thanks to the Obahma Carbon tax. Higher priced everything now.
KabbyBarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 12:33 AM   #8
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


You probably need to check your low voltage wires . They mabe touching somewhere at times. I worked on 1 this past summer that kept blowing fuse home owner kept replacing it. Mice kept chewing the wires where thew run out to the a./c unit. Weeders are also bad to knock the insulation off the wires
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 08:09 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


Part of the issue was that I took the yellow wire off to run the heat. Apparently they had the yellow hooked withthe red and when the heater ran the AC unit ran. So I took the yellow off one time and the heat ran without the

Hunter 44360 must not be a variable speed Heater Thermostat. I bought a LuxPro 152 but haven't put it in because I don't know where the wires would go.

So this summer due to prior owners issue I need to install this.

I need the variable speed furnace to work as variable speed with all the wires placed proerly and the AC to only come on when the AC is turned on.

3rd wire slot from left has white and yellow wire
4th from left has red
5th from left has 2 greens
6th from left has red
7th from left has white
The 1st and last two slots have nothing

The board below is the exact set up.

I want to work this right so the wiring isn't an issue.
KabbyBarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 08:09 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


Board above. Sorry
KabbyBarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 08:32 PM   #11
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


The thermostat has nothing to do with the var speed fan.

Hunter makes some of the crapest thermostats around.

The thermostat needs to be 2 heat and 2 cool
This is a 2-stage furnace make connections as follows

Thermostat to Control Board
R R
W1 W1
W2 W2
G G
Y Y

If you don't have enough wires make a jumper wire and jump W1 and W2 at the control board and connect W1 from the stat to W1 at the control board. Get your manual for the furnace and read electrical connections. There should be a jumper or a dip switch setting to set for use with a single heat stage stat. What this will do is make the furnace run on first stage heat for 10-14 mins then switch to second stage heat

As far as the a/c condenser you will have a 2 wire coming from the condenser. Make a connection at terminal Y and C on the control board.

About a month age I had a service call for the same problem that you are having and it was a Hunter stat. The stat was faulty. Replaced the stat and everything worked fine. I'd say your stat is junk.

Hope this helps
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 08:50 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


I heard hunters were bad. So I bought the Lux Pro to go away from Hunter. PSD 152 Multi Stage Oil Gas We have Natural Gas Furnace. Would I follow the same hook up?
KabbyBarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 08:59 PM   #13
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


Yes,
The biggest thing here is if the furnace is set up for the 2 stage heat using the stat to control the 2 stage. If the w1 and w2 at the board is jumped then a single heat stat can be used.
Can you post a pic of the board. I'd like to see the terminals in the pic.

If this concern just started then look at the stat and compare it to your new stat as far as terminal locations. If the same then just replace the stat.

Last edited by Plumber101; 02-27-2009 at 09:05 PM.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 10:05 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


Here is the board. The yellow is the one I put back to run the AC
Attached Thumbnails
Trane XV80 no flashing light-img00028-20090227-2109.jpg  
KabbyBarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 10:06 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Trane XV80 no flashing light


The concern has been going on for the last year and a half

KabbyBarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane xv80 install draft exhaust wires on furnace biggiant HVAC 5 02-10-2009 06:50 PM
Trane XV80 - low speed fan not working oregondean HVAC 4 01-12-2009 12:46 PM
Trane xv80 furnace blower not working jim2138 HVAC 2 03-22-2008 04:55 PM
Trane 80xl, 3 flashes error light - draft pressure problem, help? Xsta HVAC 1 10-14-2007 08:20 PM
Glow plug warning light is flashing spidenkin Automotive Repairs 1 07-18-2007 03:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.