Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2009, 07:44 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tator1076 View Post
Note too you can go outside to fresh air and put your hand on the open part and see if it sucking you hand. If so you r pull good air if not you have a block.
It's hard to tell how well its sucking outside, having a round concentric in/out. Its sucks from behind the cone, 360deg. But i can feel it pulling air.

Advertisement

kenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:46 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Check where the intake pipe attaches to the furnace or burner box. LOTS of furnaces have a screen there and it can get plugged with debris.
I had a couple dead grasshoppers, but nothing like leaves or grass
kenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:52 PM   #18
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Yes sorry I wanted to delete that part after i post it. Did u go outside check fresh air intake and did you check that part on black cover plate ( front of heatexchager)
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:54 PM   #19
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenk View Post
It's hard to tell how well its sucking outside, having a round concentric in/out. Its sucks from behind the cone, 360deg. But i can feel it pulling air.
ok check that one tube goes to heat exchanger. like i said use a paper clip inside that tube. I think it will work now
'
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 07:57 PM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,122
Rewards Points: 882
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Make sure the concentric kit exhaust pipe (inner one) is pushed in properly. It can get disconnected internally in the kit and cause the exhaust to recirculate into the intake pipe and trip the switch. Push it and the donut piece in firmly. May have backed out an inch from expanding/contracting.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:04 PM   #21
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Make sure the concentric kit exhaust pipe (inner one) is pushed in properly. It can get disconnected internally in the kit and cause the exhaust to recirculate into the intake pipe and trip the switch. Push it and the donut piece in firmly. May have backed out an inch from expanding/contracting.

Those cone really dont get pluged but if push back may cause low air flow
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:12 PM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,122
Rewards Points: 882
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


The exhaust pipe needs to mate/seat internally in the kit. If not the exhaust will get sucked into the intake. Cannot push it in too far to block airflow, impossible. On some of them you can pull the exhaust pipe out if the installer did not glue it together. I have had debris 2-3 feet inside the kit and iced up internally.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:13 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


well, i took a small piece of wire and ran through the barbed fitting on the intake box/burner box/whatever it's called, that the intake pipe attaches to,then used the hose to blow it out. Then theres a hose off the back of the pressure switch, i cleaned out the fitting that hose goes to(looks like the heat exchanger) But didn't mess with the hose or fitting going to the gas valve.

I hooked up the fresh air intake, and it ran through a complete heat cycle with no prob's.
kenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:17 PM   #24
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenk View Post
well, i took a small piece of wire and ran through the barbed fitting on the intake box/burner box/whatever it's called, that the intake pipe attaches to,then used the hose to blow it out. Then theres a hose off the back of the pressure switch, i cleaned out the fitting that hose goes to(looks like the heat exchanger) But didn't mess with the hose or fitting going to the gas valve.

I hooked up the fresh air intake, and it ran through a complete heat cycle with no prob's.

Ok just keep cycling it. If it was the one that goes to heat exchanger. you need to clean that time to time.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:17 PM   #25
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,122
Rewards Points: 882
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Probably the hose port on the collector box/heat exchanger got partially plugged. Happens a lot on Carriers,gets a sulphur deposit there. Check your concentric kit like I described annually. Glad you got it going.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:18 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


As far as the intake/exhaust outside, you're right. you cant push it too far back, there's tabs that stop it from going too far. The center exhaust pipe is seated correctly, flush against the face.

But being I cant see too far in either end of the intake pipe, I am wondering if something ain't in there. Damn whoever put that many bends in it.
kenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:21 PM   #27
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,122
Rewards Points: 882
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Try CAREFULLY pulling it out and look inside for debris. Don't yank too hard. Some guys glued that pipe in and it won't come out. Is supposed to be pressed in firmly after being cut to the proper length and is a tapered compression fit internally. I de-iced one in -30F for 3 hours and can write the book on them.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:28 PM   #28
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenk View Post
As far as the intake/exhaust outside, you're right. you cant push it too far back, there's tabs that stop it from going too far. The center exhaust pipe is seated correctly, flush against the face.

But being I cant see too far in either end of the intake pipe, I am wondering if something ain't in there. Damn whoever put that many bends in it.

No Not move it. If It still cycling promblem is solve go get a beer and wach some t.v. lol
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 10:03 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Try CAREFULLY pulling it out and look inside for debris. Don't yank too hard. Some guys glued that pipe in and it won't come out. Is supposed to be pressed in firmly after being cut to the proper length and is a tapered compression fit internally. I de-iced one in -30F for 3 hours and can write the book on them.
Yea, its glued in. you can see it at all the joints.

Well, been cycling ok so far, knock on wood. Thanks for the quick help and ideas
kenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:50 AM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs down

Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error


Is the Gas Valve actually "regulated" by the Black Hose going to it? I actually measured the W.C. and it was about -.5 wc. The other side of the pressure switch was about -1.7 " WC. The switch says it's factory set at 1.29". My furnace runs fine with the small black hose disconnected from the pressure switch. If I blank that hose, the gas valve is still connected to the fire box so what is the purpose to begin with? ...

Advertisement

rgfullerton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Pressure Switch Stuck Closed --heat works but A/C doesnt assassinmunky HVAC 0 06-23-2009 03:49 PM
Comfortmaker C9MPD100J14C Only goes on when I unplug and Replug pressure switch wire? kevin211mvd HVAC 7 11-15-2008 11:58 PM
PAYNE Pressure switch error code 23 WRKPA HVAC 1 02-04-2006 07:37 AM
What engages pressure switch? dfferg HVAC 1 09-12-2005 11:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts