Trane XR90, LED Flashes 2 Times For Error - HVAC - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2010, 10:04 AM   #46
GWN
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Hi all, Im glad i found this Board.
I'm having the exact same problem for the last 2 years, and my Trane XR90 is no more than 3 years old since my house is a new build.
My service guys have been looking at this problem for the last 2 years and it's already costing me over $300 (new board, service calls ect).
he actually came by this weekend to replace another board and last night the problem is back, so as of right now, no heat again and only cool air.

If alot of us having this problem, doesn't sound like its a manuf. defect?
now i need to find another service guy to look at solve this problem, don't want to keep on replacing parts that is not broken

Advertisement

GWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 03:03 PM   #47
dnm
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Tane XR 90 with two blinking light


My furnance shutsdown every 10-15 min. Sometimes it fails to restart with with error code of "two blinking light". Sometimes, I hear some noise when furnance is trying to start.

Any suggestion?

Thank you
dnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:58 PM   #48
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I realize this is an old thread but I thought I'd post my experience with my own 11 year old Trane furnace that had the same symptom as others have posted - unheated air was blowing from vents and wouldn't turn off. No flame in the flame box, 2 blinks on the LED, and when restarting the unit the igniter would come on 3 times, I'd see an orange glow, then it would go to error state.

After just trying a power cycle of the system from the circuit breaker and reading this thread and seeing increasingly complicated things to test, I first just went back to the troubleshooting tip in the manual to check the condensate hose. When I got the hose off it had black sludge in it. I was able to remove the 12" piece of hose with a right angle connection, cleaned it out with hot water. Put the hose back on after checking the other sides of the connections on the unit and not seeing any sludge there. I turned the system back on and the burners came on the first try. Been running for 30 minutes now. Was on the verge of making a service call, glad I took the time to try a couple simple things.

I should note that I did unplug and plug back in every connection on the main board while I had the system off. I didn't see any problems on those connections, so I still think the blockage in the condensate hose was the problem.

Last edited by DIY-Tom; 11-18-2012 at 04:01 PM.
DIY-Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DIY-Tom For This Useful Post:
demaman (11-27-2015)
Old 12-16-2012, 11:49 AM   #49
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I had to register with this forum simply to give kudos to the above poster. I have a Trane XR90 natural gas furnace that would try to ignite over and over again, and when ignition finally occurred, the burners would go out after 10-20 seconds.

I, too, was on the verge of a service call because I know nothing about furnaces or electrical connections. But after I read the above post I decided to check the condensation lines running to the pump. I pulled the line running from the inducer to the pump, and water came gushing out. So much water, in fact, that I was afraid that something in the gas line switch was going to end up failing as the water ran over that switch (so far, so good). There was gunk in the line, and after clearing that out and hooking everything back up, the furnace is running like a champ now.

The diagnostic clue that this was the problem was that when the inducer fan started running when the furnace got a call for heat, there was a clear sound of water sloshing around at the inducer. If you hear that, even just a little bit, check the lines before mucking about with anything else.
zippityz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 07:36 AM   #50
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Trane Xr80


My issue was-

It would run normally for a length of time, 20 minutes to 3 months, and then it would run for a few seconds and shut down, and eventually throw the 2 blink recycle error code and run cold air.

The simple fix was to take a scotch brite, reach my hand up behind the burner where the white flame sensor wire was and clean the flame sensor rod. I also unplugged that checked the connection and now it is running fantastically. 2 minute fix, no cost and no expensive tech call! Same issue last year, I don't have an annual servicing plan, because I figure I can do it myself. But I am guessing this may be something the annual service call tech would do.
KhUlmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 03:36 PM   #51
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIY-Tom View Post
I should note that I did unplug and plug back in every connection on the main board while I had the system off. I didn't see any problems on those connections, so I still think the blockage in the condensate hose was the problem.
just wanted to post if others were having similar issue. I had cold air blowing from Trane XR80 and I have cleaned the flame sensor twice by that point. Still cold air was coming through. I checked the condensation hose and it was fine (Its winter, there shouldn't be any condensation). I already cycled the unit (not sure if I did it right, probably not)

Then I read this post. So I went and checked all connections, everything seemed fine. I then proceed to disconnect and reconnect the two large white connectors (the ones with 12 prongs and 4 prongs). I am assuming one of them was going to power and that actually did cycle the board, now everything is working. I would have never thought to do this if it was not for the poster above.

Thanks again
demaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 02:17 PM   #52
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default


ok, so here is the update. The issue has returned but I fixed it by replacing the board, took about 45 minutes. (I could have saved 40-50$ for the board if I did a little bit better research .. oh well) I wanted to wait couple days before posting, to see if the issue would return, so far so good. if you have to replace the board make sure to take bunch of pictures, maybe even a video and then re-plug the wires ,one by one, from old board to new. Also, try finding a video on how to replace a board on your unit, could be helpful.

here is what was happening:
1. the inducer motor would start spinning
2. flame igniter would start glowing
3. I would hear a click (I am assuming thats the gas turning on)
4. No gas ignition
5. The blower would start going
6. repeat the process several times

So from this, looking back, I could tell it wasn't the flame sensor, since there was no burn, there was nothing to sense. The high limit switch(switch that senses if there is too much heat) wasn't an issue, since the igniter would come on. If there was too much heat, the igniter would not come on and the blower would just keep going.

I didn't think it was the gas valve issue since sometimes the furnace work just fine. I figured it was the board, maybe the igniter relay on the board was going bad, since those things can go bad. When I removed the board, I noticed there were dark yellow spots on the back (none of them by the relays). When I put new one in, it started working fine.

So I am not 100% sure exactly what was wrong with the old board but looks like it just wore out.

Advertisement


Last edited by demaman; 12-06-2015 at 02:21 PM.
demaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error kenk HVAC 31 10-24-2015 12:16 AM
Trane XR90 Mike2401 HVAC 32 12-22-2009 01:18 PM
Trane XE 80 4 flashes on board Trane Spotter HVAC 1 11-13-2008 07:58 PM
Trane 80xl, 3 flashes error light - draft pressure problem, help? Xsta HVAC 1 10-14-2007 08:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1