Trane XR90, LED Flashes 2 Times For Error - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2010, 04:16 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Check for voltage between the 2 wires that are connected to the gas valve, while they are attached to the gas valve.

If you don't get 24 volts across the gas valve, but do when you read red to ground. Most likely. You have a limit or roll out switch open somewhere.
I checked and I don't have 24 volts across the gas valve. However, if that was caused by a trip from one of the switches, wouldn't that show up as three flashes of the led as opposed to the two flash, system lockout diagnositc?

Advertisement

theob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:20 PM   #32
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


i took a quick picture of the upper portion of the furnace. i believe the switch at the bottom of the burner box is the high limit switch, and i checked that. the only think that i can think of that could possibly be the rollout switch would be the piece with two wires attached to it on the far wall below the burner box, but i don't see a reset button on it.

http://img543.imageshack.us/img543/1530/img4049j.jpg
theob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:26 PM   #33
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


Pic is corrupted, and won't download.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:35 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


sorry. i'll post another version in a minute
theob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:37 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


try this:

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/2175/img4049q.jpg
theob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:39 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


i uploaded a smaller version in case the link didn't come through.
Attached Thumbnails
Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error-img_4049.jpg  
theob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:44 PM   #37
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


Should be a roll out on either the left or right side of the burner box.

That is the high limit directly below teh burner box.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:50 PM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Should be a roll out on either the left or right side of the burner box.

That is the high limit directly below teh burner box.
i checked and there is really absolutely nothing on either side, except for the pressure tube that comes off the bottom right (which you can see in the picture).
theob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:53 PM   #39
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


Ok.

you said the red wire to ground had 24 volts. So trace the black wire to its source.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 05:19 PM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


the black wire is actually a blue wire and it junctions on a small-ish box to the left side of the circuit board that has 4 wires coming out of it. everything seemed to be connected/not corroded, etc.
theob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 05:31 PM   #41
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


Trace those other wires.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 05:45 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


they all trace back to various places on the circuit board. i pulled each connection off the circuit board and checked for corrosion, etc, but i didn't find anything. i tried to fire up the furnace again to see if it was just a bad contact, but i got the same thing (nothing).

Last edited by theob; 10-24-2010 at 05:48 PM.
theob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 08:05 PM   #43
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


I think your going to need someone on site for it then.

Just replacing parts until getting the right one can be expensive.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 08:48 PM   #44
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


i was afraid you were going to say that. do you think there's a decent possibility that it's the board itself? i found a place that i can get the oem replacement (a slight upgrade from the original) for a decent price (~$95) and i don't mind installing it myself. i certainly don't want to start replacing parts willy nilly, but i'm afraid that if someone comes by to fix it they're going to hand me a bill in the hundreds. maybe they wouldn't, but it certainly seems like a reasonable possibility.

i figured that at this point, it's not the ignitor, it's probably not the flame sensor (i cleaned it) or the pressure switch (i tested it), it's not the high limit switch (i tested that), i checked the pressure tubes, i vacuumed out the intake/exhaust outside the house.

is there anything i'm missing? i guess i don't know enough about what could go wrong here.

thanks again for the help. i really appreciate it, even if i don't solve the problem myself.
theob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 04:18 AM   #45
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Trane XR90, LED flashes 2 times for error


Could be the board. But still sounds like something else.

Hate to see 85 bucks thrown away on a part that is not the problem. Then more money on another part. and then still have to call someone out.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error kenk HVAC 30 10-10-2012 04:24 PM
Trane XR90 Mike2401 HVAC 32 12-22-2009 02:18 PM
Trane XE 80 4 flashes on board Trane Spotter HVAC 1 11-13-2008 08:58 PM
Trane 80xl, 3 flashes error light - draft pressure problem, help? Xsta HVAC 1 10-14-2007 09:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts