Trane Xr12 Flips Breaker - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-29-2012, 10:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 85
Default

trane xr12 flips breaker


I have a trane xr12 outside and a Trane TWE036c14obo inside (in the attic)

My the house temp rose inside today to around 76 degrees and my wife turned on the AC, but it was not getting cold. The fan is running but the compressor is not running. I checked the fuse in the air handler but it was fine (should have known is the fan is running) I checked the breaker and it AC breaker was tripped. I turned it on, heard the compressor kick on then immediately the breaker flipped again.

any advice to get it running again?

In the past the fuse was blowing in the air handler, i replaced it and it worked. Last July it blew again and i changed the fuse it immediately burned out. I called a HVAC guy and he found a bare wire in the compressor unit outside, he tapped it up and all was good. A few months later it happened again. I opened the panel on the compressor and i didn't find any bare wires, but it started working again, must have been another short butt i couldn't find it.. This might be the problem, but the fuse isn't blowing like last time.

I am going to check the wires again maybe ill find something.

EDIT: no bare wires.., with the thermostat turned off the breaker still trips for the compressor.

Advertisement


Last edited by mchipser; 02-29-2012 at 11:30 PM.
mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 06:53 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

trane xr12 flips breaker


Not sure if that model has a crank case heater or not but if it does disconnect it and try the unit again.

Advertisement

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 85
Default

trane xr12 flips breaker


I have no idea what that is..

I was also going to test the capacitor but my multimeter doesn't test mfd..
mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 10:00 AM   #4
thermal-medics.com
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default

trane xr12 flips breaker


If your unit is competely turned off at the T-stat and you reset the breaker for the outdoor unit (compressor and condenser fan, etc) and it tripped again than what Marty is trying to say is it would be on an always-hot wire.

The crankcase heater is simply a band (usually) that draws low voltage and keeps the compressor warm. It prevents liquid migration of refrigerant during off cycles.

Eitherway, if you are tripping the breaker even with a dead off unit then look for wire connections:

1. at the breaker connection if you are able (careful)
2. at the disconnect at the outdoor unit (with the breaker off)
3. at the contactor line side (where it comes in from disconnect)
4. your contactor probably has a bar on one side that is always hot (pic)
anything that has power constantly applied to it will go through this bar (example is the crankcase heater)

you can refer to the wiring schematic for tracking the other wires. be sure to discharge any run capacitors before working around them especially if you have been trying to apply power to the unit.

if you are turning the unit on and the breaker trips then I would see in your future a grounded wire (anywhere), or locked-up compressor issue. anyone else??
thermal-medics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 85
Default

trane xr12 flips breaker


Well I had a HVAC guy come out and the compressor has a short inside the unit.. He took the three wires and they were shorted to each other..
mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 85
Default

trane xr12 flips breaker


I had another tech come out to get a second opinion.. Same problem.. However these guys are the ones who installed the unit in my house (I did not know this) and it turns out the compressor is still in warranty.. I have to pay for labor to install it but it is way cheaper then a whole new unit..

Advertisement

mchipser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to change Circuit breaker to Buss fuse socket type? njchen24 Electrical 8 08-07-2011 07:27 PM
Trane 1100XE tripping circuit breaker lmhouck HVAC 1 11-07-2010 09:39 AM
20 amp GFCI breaker pops when pool pump is turned on. jagrunner Electrical 11 03-19-2010 05:31 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 06:00 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts