Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2008, 12:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Trane XE80 not(?) hot enough


I just bought a home with a trane XE80 (no central air) installed in mid to late 90's. It works but "I think" the air should be warmer.

The heat comes on and off fine. Whatever temp (LUX Programable Thermostat) I set is reached before it turns off/on.

In comparison to other systems the heat blowing out of the registers doesn't feel as warm with my system. My friends air feels noticably warmer.

I've had the ducts cleaned recently and the filter is clean.

Is there anything I could check myself? Is there any adjustment in the furnace?

rossl56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 04:05 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,064
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Trane XE80 not(?) hot enough


If its heating the house. The air doesn't need to be warmer.

Your blower may be set at a higher speed. You could lower it. But you could end up with rooms that don;t heat as well then.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 08:38 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Trane XE80 not(?) hot enough


Thank you for the answer.

I think you are correct about the blower setting. There are 2 rooms (1 in particular) that may require the higher setting to reach.

The blower is set to a VERY high speed. In the living room you can actually feel a draft when the heat is on. I think the draft is caused by the air coming out of the register stirring the air in the room so much. That is one of the main reasons that I would like the heat to feel warmer. There are a couple of rooms that get more heat/air than others (these are obviously closer to the furnace.

Can anyone tell me the location of the blower speed so I can try to reset the dampers in the ducts?
rossl56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 06:12 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,064
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Trane XE80 not(?) hot enough


It will be on the furnace control board in teh blowe compartment.

Turn power off before opening.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 11:56 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Trane XE80 not(?) hot enough


There is a sticker on the access door that states there are 4 wires for the fan that go to the Control Unit. They are labelled:

COOL, HEAT, PARK, PARK (What does park mean?)

There is also a white wire contacted directly to the fan

------------------------------------------------


There is also a "Fan Speed Table" that states the following:

(1) Red - Low
(2) Yellow - Med Low
(3) Blue- Med High
(4) Black - High

-----------------------------------------------------

The wires (with push on connectors) are now connected as follows:

Cool - Black (I do NOT have A/C)
Heat - Blue (Is the fan now set for Medium High for heating?)
Park - Red
Park - Yellow

Would I just swap the yellow and blue at the control unit (to set the heat/blower to med-low)?
rossl56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 02:34 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,064
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Trane XE80 not(?) hot enough


Park is where you "park" unused motor speed wires.
Your current heating speed is med high.
Move that blue wire to the park terminal of the speed you want to use.
And connect that speed wire to the heat terminal.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XE80 (Pressure Switch Indicator Err) cherande HVAC 7 09-25-2008 12:02 AM
Can a Trane xe80 do Fan only? Fredmickey HVAC 1 09-12-2008 08:14 PM
Trane XE80 Heating Question, Please help!!! Stephen1977 HVAC 3 01-30-2007 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.