Trane XE80 - Cold Air! - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2007, 12:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Trane XE80 - cold air!


I have a Trane XE80 furnace, the original in the home, which is 10 years old.

A few weeks ago, it started blowing cold air out periodically and frequently. It would blow cold air when it would be programmed to go from 62 to 69 degrees in the morning, and often throughout the day. The thermostat can be turned off, and it continues to blow cold air for up to ten minutes. The LED light at the bottom of the furnace has never revealed a "trouble code", leading to believe it is not failing.

I had a Trane-qualified Repair technician come out, and he did a 30 minute inspection, which revealed nothing. He said it looked clean, and was testing out as operational.

Revealing my lack of knowledge, I ask the question: Is my next step to replace the Honeywell programmable thermostat (9 years old)? I've never had trouble with either the air conditioning or the furnace in the past.

Thanks for reading this.

Advertisement


Last edited by chances04; 02-02-2007 at 12:17 PM. Reason: Wrong
chances04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 10:35 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


It isn't the thermostat; I have replaced that and it is still blowing cold air.

Thank you again for reading this.

Advertisement

chances04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 01:02 AM   #3
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


Hi chances04

There are several things that cause the symptoms you described. The most common is an ignition lockout. This could be due a dirty flame sensor or flame rectification circuit not reading ground. Shut the power off to the furnace, locate the stainless steel rod and remove it. Use steel wool or a wire brush and clean. Reinstall the flame sensor and fire up the furnace. If this does not work it could be a limit switch tripping or the pressure switch is sticking either closed or open. I am taking a educated guess that the flame sensor is the problem. If you could give a little more detail as to what it is doing, I can give you a more accurate solution. Check the system filter, if it showes dirt replace it.

Good luck
Rusty
__________________
Character is doing the right thing even when no one is looking. Intelligence is understanding and practicing the meaning of character.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:09 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


Thank you, Carrierman. I've been trying to isolate, so I am just replying to your suggestions.

Now, The unit is blinking a '2' code, which evidentally is a 'System Lockout, check line polarity' alert'.

Is this something I can repair myself, or should I have the pro return to repair?

Thanks again for your assistance, Carrierman.
chances04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 05:46 PM   #5
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


Hi chances04

If you are comfortable with wiring this is no problem to correct. Or if it is on a two prong plug all you have to do is flip the plug over and plug it back in the other way. If its on a three prong plug, locate where the wires go into the furnace from the recepticle after you have unplugged the furnace. Switch the position of the black and white wires. See if this corrects the problem, if it does you will need to make a permanent change at the recepticle its self. You don't want to leave furnace permanently like this. It won't hurt the furnace, but it may be against code in your area. Just use this for testing purposes only, make the permanent repair at the recepticle.

Good luck
Rusty
__________________
Character is doing the right thing even when no one is looking. Intelligence is understanding and practicing the meaning of character.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 02:59 PM   #6
Electrical Engineer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


Since it only happens periodically, it might be a loose ground connection.
rakes9720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 02:06 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


I had the same exact problem and had a technician come out and all he did was tap the gas valve during the start up and it started up just like that. According to the tech the valve was sticking and not opening when called for heat and by tapping it loosen it and it opened. You might give this a try and see if it works. You can hear the valve click during the start up. After three times and the valve doesn't open the system stops trying to light and just blows air hench the cold air and colder mornings.
eoyads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 04:38 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


I have the same furnace and have found like most make of furnaces of this vintage, the fire sensor needs to be cleaned once a year to prevent the cold air problem. The need to clean the fire sensor is by far the most common cure to this problem.
Thome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 10:03 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


If you are comfortable with sodering, all you have to do is locate the gas valve and remove the black thing on top where all the wire are attached to. Once removed flip it over and you will see a green chip plate with contact points (looks like tiny silver volcanos) for the wires. Find the one that is not completely connected and resoder. I used a voltameter to help me find the exact spot. Once I did this it worked ever since.
eoyads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 11:46 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Trane XE80 - cold air!


I find this thread interesting, especially since I have a similar problem and same model furnace. I have a furnace blowing cold air. I have to drop all power from the system for a while before the furnace will reset and allow for troubleshooting. Once reset here is what I find.
1. The draft blower starts while getting a normal call for fire
2. Igniter gets hot
3. Igniter goes out before gas turns on.
The sequence continues until the control board locks out. Once locked out the furnace blower runs continuously. I checked the heat sensors and all ohm out good (closed). The draft blower switch seems to be working. I can fine voltage to the switch that passes once the draft blower starts. Anyone have any suggestions?
Thome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 08:16 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 453
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


Clean flame sensor/thermocouple.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I86jo...eature=related
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 04:53 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


Thanks for link. I am aware of the problems with a dirty flame sensor, unfortunately the problem I have is that I do not get the flame at all... any thoughts?
Thome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 11:54 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


I have a similar problem with me XE80: it blows cold air when responding to a heat call every once in a while. During one of these cycles when it was blowing cold air, I opened the panel and just wiggled the wires on the thermostat input on the controller board and the unit immediately responded to the heat call. The LED was flashing a normal code before I moved the wires and give the code for a heat call when after wiggling. Looking at the past thread, I would surmise this is not a problem with the flame sensor, etc... but I am unable to find any loose wires also. Someone mentioned a loose ground...how is the board grounded? Any other suggestions? I also notice that when it goes into this mode, then the red terminal only outputs 7 volts instead of ~ 27 V.
irfan_siddiqi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 12:12 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


I have a Trane XE80. It has worked flawlessly for the 2 years I have lived in my home, only problem was once when I installed a 3m filter that was the blue level electrostatic and the pressure drop thru the filter was so great it choked the furnace causing a high limit failure. I switched to the purple and it was fine again. Then a few nights ago it just started blowing only cold air and showing 4 blinking lights, high limit error. I had just put in a new filter, I checked all limit switches with meter, removed filter temporarily to eliminate as a problem, checked A coil for dirt or blockage, checked board and all electrical connections, yet just old air. So I decided what the heck I'll clean the flame sensor since its so easy... Bam the thing fired up. I don't understand why the flame sensor would be associated with a high limit error, but my suggestion would be if your furnace has these symptoms, try the flame sensor.
MnEng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 02:45 AM   #15
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,555
Rewards Points: 626
Default

Trane XE80 - cold air!


Hey Thorm
Cheapest repair to try would be an igniter change. Lots of hot igniters have the wrong amp reading for the board to go to the next stage.

The more expensive repair is a gas valve replacement. (Check first that it's "on" , or that you have gas, or that the relevent electrical connections to the gas valve are good.)

What does the led say?

Advertisement

how is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XE80 (Pressure Switch Indicator Err) cherande HVAC 7 09-25-2008 01:02 AM
What is cold room for? KUIPORNG Remodeling 4 04-26-2007 06:06 PM
Trane XE80 Heating Question, Please help!!! Stephen1977 HVAC 3 01-30-2007 07:34 PM
Help with low pressure cold water upstairs lewissv Plumbing 5 01-26-2007 09:05 AM
how cold is too cold for vinyl siding? THEBIGPUNN Building & Construction 1 11-22-2005 11:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts