Trane X1000 120/24VAC Transformer - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2011, 09:27 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane X1000 120/24VAC Transformer


Okay - what size fuse would you suggest?

Advertisement

Slim2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 02:54 AM   #17
HVAC Supermodel
 
unicursalhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wa
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Trane X1000 120/24VAC Transformer


Do a continuity check on the stat wire AND the wire going to the outdoor unit, do this before anything else.
unicursalhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 08:29 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane X1000 120/24VAC Transformer


Okay I'll check the outside unit today. If there is no short with the outside unit, could it be that when the system calls for heat the heat pump is going to ground? I could put the system in Em. Heat I guess before to see. Any other suggestions are very much welcome and appreciated. Thank you.
Slim2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 05:42 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane X1000 120/24VAC Transformer


I checked the outside unit, no shorts. I'm starting to think maybe the Honeywell control panel might be the culprit. Nothing is making sense as to why something is going to ground. The Honeywell control panel looks normal, no signs of problems.
Slim2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 04:01 AM   #20
HVAC Supermodel
 
unicursalhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wa
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Trane X1000 120/24VAC Transformer


Did you manually jump the unit on? If it runs without the wires and stat and you're sure there are no shorts then go get a thermostat
unicursalhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:27 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane X1000 120/24VAC Transformer


Thanks guys for all the help you provided. I purchased another transformer and a inline fuse with 3amp fuses. After installing the new transformer with the fuse, I was able to troubleshoot the problem back to the Honeywell Thermostat. It appears 8 years was just to much for it, and it internally gave up the ghost. Problem solved, thank you to all who offer support.

Advertisement

Slim2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
transformer failure in a Trane XE78 turtleescape HVAC 7 07-19-2010 08:34 PM
Unable to find out how to wire a dimmable light transformer Maleko Electrical 9 02-07-2010 02:07 AM
new install of Trane XL15i nind HVAC 32 01-30-2010 01:59 PM
How to install Aprilaire transformer? Studly HVAC 9 09-18-2009 10:44 AM
Comfortmaker RPJ - Bad Transformer? olgranddad HVAC 2 12-26-2008 12:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts