Trane TUE060 Furnace Won't Start - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2010, 05:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

trane TUE060 furnace won't start


I was unable to find a similar problem in previous posts. I have a Trane TUE060 furnace. The furnace is not turning on when I set the temperature below the ambient temp. The AC functions properly and the blower fan runs when I switch to fan "on" mode (not heat mode). I'm getting an error code of three flashing red lights indicating pressure switch problem. The filter was just replaced. Based on other posts, I checked the tube behind the pressure switch and the exhaust fan turns freely. I also temporarily removed the exhaust tube to rule out blockage. I hope I didn't damage anything in doing so, but I also pushed back the plunger on the pressure switch with a screwdriver while holding the panel safety switch down. Still nothing. The unit doesn't seem to be doing anything (no hums or clicks...heard a click the first time I took the panel off and tried to start holding safety switch). Is it worth it to replace the switch ($45) before calling a professional? I don't have a voltmeter (and don't know how to use one anyway). Sidenote, the AC needed a charge last spring and there was considerable leakage of water down the unit when the ice melted off the coil (wonder if that damaged anything). Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

jkolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 05:49 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

trane TUE060 furnace won't start


not going to be door switch if a/c works..I don't mean to sound harsh , but, If you don't know how to use vm. It's time for you to call someone.

Advertisement

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:05 PM   #3
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 162
Default

trane TUE060 furnace won't start


[quote=jkolo;528640] . The furnace is not turning on when I set the temperature below the ambient temp.quote]


newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:29 PM   #4
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 162
Default

trane TUE060 furnace won't start


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
not going to be door switch if a/c works..I don't mean to sound harsh , but, If you don't know how to use vm. It's time for you to call someone.

Nice answer
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gas furnace , no heat , pressure switch , trane


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil Furnace Won't start ScottEW HVAC 0 10-05-2010 09:26 AM
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 02:21 AM
Trane xv80 furnace blower not working jim2138 HVAC 2 03-22-2008 05:55 PM
Trane xl-90 2 stage furnace problems ikon07 HVAC 5 03-14-2008 09:14 AM
Cozy Propane Furnace Start up Noise NJ Gimo HVAC 7 01-01-2007 11:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts