Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2011, 04:43 PM   #1
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,621
Share |
Default

Trane Tonnage


What size is this?

Condenser model number: OAUA-402-D
Evaporator model number: TXH054A4HPA2

3.5 ton?

Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 05:27 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,026
Default

Trane Tonnage


Here you go Doc
http://www1.eere.energy.gov/building...appendix_g.pdf It has info on all of the popular units.
http://www.brainerdcompressor.com/Model_Num.htm
http://rexonavn.com/download/manual/...2FjZGF0YS5wZGY
http://www.cee1.org/com/hecac/ac_tiers/mod_toc.htm

I am going to guess 4.5 ton.


Last edited by gregzoll; 08-21-2011 at 05:45 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 06:30 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,621
Default

Trane Tonnage


It's a 1755 sq ft home..?
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 06:36 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Trane Tonnage


You sure that a trane condenser.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 07:19 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,026
Default

Trane Tonnage


Looks like it is a old school trane or GE air handler for the Condenser.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 07:24 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Trane Tonnage


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Looks like it is a old school trane or GE air handler for the Condenser.

I think you nailed it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 07:46 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,026
Default

Trane Tonnage


I had to go back and look at one of the links. Found some stuff from hvac-talk, but nothing like the cheat sheets that I came across. I am going to say probably a 4 ton on the condenser. I am coming up with 33.5 btu's for the GE unit/air handler, doing the divide by 6 to see if divisible, then go back and divide the 402 by 12.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 08:45 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,621
Default

Trane Tonnage


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
You sure that a trane condenser.
Yes, 100% sure. I was there this Saturday and took down the make and numbers but wasn't sure what the tonnage was as it wasn't a straight ''42" or "36" in the model numbers of either the condenser or evap.

Over the phone the boss said it was a 3.5 ton but after this thread I'm more determined than ever to call Trane first thing in the morning.

Thanks guys, I'll take pics when I'm out there again for the new install (which will be Goodman) of the ancient beast.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 01:17 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Cool

Trane Tonnage


Doc,
How soon do you need the information? If it is indeed a Trane or even an old GE unit I should be able to pull up the information from the Trane E-Library tomorrow. Let me know.....TT1
TraneTech1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 02:58 PM   #10
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,621
Default

Trane Tonnage


That job was weeks ago. It turned out to be a four ton if I remember correctly. I thought I took pictures of it and posted it but thanks anyways. Always good to have insiders around.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 03:06 PM   #11
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,621
Default

Trane Tonnage


Again, if I remember correctly I called Aces which is the American Standard/Trane supply house and they told me the size.




Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane TCONT803 Tstat install ... on Trane XB14 system chaaalie HVAC 10 09-08-2011 06:56 AM
trane tonnage air man HVAC 3 04-13-2011 10:20 PM
Ruud vs Trane peter_holmes HVAC 23 07-28-2010 02:32 PM
new install of Trane XL15i nind HVAC 32 01-30-2010 12:59 PM
Humid - Switched Trane xl1200 AC for a Payne HP - now very Humid dagrappler HVAC 1 06-11-2007 12:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.