Trane Thermostat Replacement - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 03:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


I have a Trane thermostat with no model number on a conventional, gas/electric system. The stamp says the part no. is BAYSENS008B. It has two temperature control slides, red and blue that travel the same chanel, presumably one for heat one for cool.

There is no wire identification on the wires or on the connection points of the Trane thermostat. The wires go into a junction block numbered one through five, (1-5). By wire color the sequence is 1 = Red; 2 = White; 3 = Black; 4 = Brown; 5 = Green. I do know that typically the colors are related to the following designations Red=RH with jumper to RC (power); White=W (Heat Contactor); Black=C (Common); Brown=? Substitute for Yellow, (Cool Contactor); Green=G (Fan Relay); and I did connect them using those as the designations, I also swapped the Black and Brown with no change.

The wiring diagram cannot be found on-line to identify the corresponding connections for 1-5 for the Trane thermostat but it has to exist or the HVAC Engineer could not have installed it. Does anyone have the designations for the numbers on the wiring block.

I want to replace it with a programmable Hunter, model 44905 touch screen. I have installed it successfully on the front office system for my church replacing the York thermostat. We have the Trane system on the Sanctuary.

Advertisement

Maursce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 03:45 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,368
Rewards Points: 1,100
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


You can not just replace that with a normal thermostat. Your thermostat is a reliatel zone stat. What is the model number of your package unit?

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 03:56 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


I have looked all over the cover and the backing plate the only thing I canfind is the letters on the circuit board that says ANC and the part number BAYSENS008B
Maursce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 03:59 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,368
Rewards Points: 1,100
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


no, your package unit (hvac unit) outside.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 04:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


I have looked all over the cover and the backing plate the only thing I canfind is the letters on the circuit board that says ANC and the part number BAYSENS008B
Maursce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 04:08 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


unfortunately, it is raining/hailing right now and it is on the roof
Maursce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 04:37 PM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,368
Rewards Points: 1,100
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


ok, when you can get to it. get the model number, also open the control panel and take a picture of the controls. you maybe able to switch to the elctro/mechanical control and use a normal thermostat. Your contractor did you no favors when they put a commercial control and setup in.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 05:11 PM   #8
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


I've replaced way more "Hunter" stats than I have installed.I hasve only installed Hunter stats that the customer bought and wanted me to install.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (03-02-2012)
Old 03-02-2012, 05:47 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by REP View Post
I've replaced way more "Hunter" stats than I have installed.I have only installed Hunter stats that the customer bought and wanted me to install.
Amen! You buy cheap... you get cheap.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 06:01 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
ok, when you can get to it. get the model number, also open the control panel and take a picture of the controls. you maybe able to switch to the elctro/mechanical control and use a normal thermostat. Your contractor did you no favors when they put a commercial control and setup in.

??? Its on a church Sanctuary.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 08:00 PM   #11
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,368
Rewards Points: 1,100
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


Totally missed that. Thanks!
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:42 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


So, I've had quite the time trying to get a normal thermostat to work with my roof Trane unit. Trane sensors are totally different (which I'm not a big fan of...). A normal thermostat won't just plug in--you have to get a "Trane Interface Board" first in order to change the interface to accept a normal thermostat. I went for a Venstar TIB-515, which made my unit work with a Hunter 7-day programmable thermostat for air conditioning, but now doesn't seem to work whatsoever with the heating function... I'm ready to chuck the dumb thing out the window and go for a 7-day programmable Trane temperature sensor. Anyone know if the new Trane sensors will work on a roof unit that ran off a BAYSENS008B?
jmoorm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:22 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


if you have the unitary board in the unit you need a interface board if you have the relatel board you can use the low voltage connections
mrairflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 04:20 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


You need to just buy a conventional interface board, BAYCTHI001 I think, this takes Tranes proprietary (secret squirrel) wiring and turns it into the standard Y B G O , etc
__________________
Filtration / HVAC & Indoor Air Quality Solutions
AirstarFilters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 10:39 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Trane Thermostat replacement


yep interface board....throw that piece of crap Trane stat in a river...

Advertisement

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 09:43 AM
Trane Xl 1200 5 ton Compressor Fan replacement opions needed spg112357 HVAC 35 01-04-2012 03:08 PM
Need help connecting Trane TZEMT400 Thermostat; no 'C' wire / 24VAC dinki HVAC 1 04-04-2011 07:28 PM
Ritetemp 6036 replacement thermostat deanrfire HVAC 0 01-15-2010 02:12 AM
Thermostat replacement bswest HVAC 5 04-14-2007 10:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts