Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2011, 06:45 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Share |
Default

Trane - Not Powering Thermostat


Don't feel bad. I know a guy whom is an awesome hvac technician. His personal truck broke down one day. After a fuel pump relay, ignition module, crank sensor and new cap rotor and wires, I went over and found out he was out of gas....

Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:46 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Default

Trane - Not Powering Thermostat


Purple in place of red
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:56 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 435
Default

Trane - Not Powering Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by Splitz300 View Post
Do these typically go bad like that "all of a sudden" in the manner originally described? Unit is only just over 5 years old.

I could understand the contact relay going bad before a transformer, but I'm not an expect in these (obviously). I can force the system on by depressing the contact in the middle of the relay block.

Does the control board require 24VAC to illuminate the LED?
I bet that transformer has 110volt AC input and 24volt ac out thro diodes to make up DC voltage ?? i don't belive diode's work on AC voltage. I would look to replace the PC board it will be a complete board. May be exchanged Don't know the warrenty contact the mfd. and see and also ask about a PC board. Most likey the doide's are bad not the trans. But those are cheep transf. Check voltage on one side 110volt ac not on the other side 24volt ac now their should be some little diode's right around their also . With a ohm meter check frount to back and see if the reading is different? If the same they are shorted. Now they should be unsoldered one end and check that way. Best to just get a new board. Been in repair for 50 yrs. Now retired
del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:56 PM   #34
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,620
Default

Trane - Not Powering Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
Don't feel bad. I know a guy whom is an awesome hvac technician. His personal truck broke down one day. After a fuel pump relay, ignition module, crank sensor and new cap rotor and wires, I went over and found out he was out of gas....
is this really true? what airline does he work for?..
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 06:58 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Default

Trane - Not Powering Thermostat


Do you ever wonder about reading comprehension?
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 07:01 PM   #36
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,620
Default

Trane - Not Powering Thermostat


I can't read so there's nothing to comprehend.

Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 08:43 AM
Need help connecting Trane TZEMT400 Thermostat; no 'C' wire / 24VAC dinki HVAC 1 04-04-2011 06:28 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Trane Z Wave Thermostat Installation TommyTelephone HVAC 1 09-13-2009 03:51 AM
Help with Trane HVAC Thermostat taylorjo32327 HVAC 0 07-22-2009 01:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.