Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2010, 10:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ca
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

Trane ignitor problem


I just replaced the ignitor and sensor on my xv80.It was flashing 9 times which is ignition problems on the code chart.Worked great for 2 days and now the same thing is happening.Blowing cold air and the ignitor is not glowing.Any ideas on this problem.Thanks

antlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 10:46 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,408
Default

Trane ignitor problem


Is it getting the proper voltage to the igniter during the startup cycle. Not sure what it is on the newer Tranes. Check it anyway and post it here. May be stamped on the igniter plug.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:09 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ca
Posts: 7
Default

Trane ignitor problem


I am getting 120 volts.I can not see anything on the ignitor as far as voltage requirements.Thanks
antlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:32 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Trane ignitor problem


If you have 120 volts to the ignitor and it's not red hot then it has failed. All I carry on the truck any more is the white rodgers nitride upgrades.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:44 AM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,408
Default

Trane ignitor problem


Never touch the igniter itself as it is very fragile and any finger oil on it can ruin it. Only touch the porcelain.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:44 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ca
Posts: 7
Default

Trane ignitor problem


I just replaced this 2 days ago.Why is it failing already again.Thanks

Last edited by antlers; 01-10-2010 at 12:06 PM.
antlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:47 AM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,408
Default

Trane ignitor problem


Rough handling before you got it, defective igniter (very rare). Check it with an ohm meter, should be around 50 ohms. Where did you buy it from.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:49 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ca
Posts: 7
Default

Trane ignitor problem


I did not touch the ignitor.I was told that i should only have 80 volts going to the the ignitor.Can anyone confirm this.I thought they all should receive 120 volts.Thanks
antlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:51 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ca
Posts: 7
Default

Trane ignitor problem


I bought it from a trane dealer.Thanks for the help yuri.I also bought the motherboard just in case but i am hoping not to have to install it and save the money.
antlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:58 AM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,408
Default

Trane ignitor problem


Lennox uses a reduced voltage igniter not sure about Trane. Post the complete model and serial # and someone will help you later today, be patient.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:04 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ca
Posts: 7
Default

Trane ignitor problem


Model # TUD080R9V3K0 serial Z472PDL1G Thanks again yuri
antlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:11 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Trane ignitor problem


Dirty burners causing a delayed ignition will crack them almost every time. This is the one I use. http://www.johnstonesupply.com/corp/...t_Code=L41-806 Most supply houses carry the same thing,johnstone is just the closest one to our shop.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 06:13 PM   #13
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Default

Trane ignitor problem


if its blowing cold air when furnace isnt running id check for open limit switch
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:18 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ca
Posts: 7
Default

Trane ignitor problem


The burners are clean.Anyone know the output for the the ignitor on this model.I dont want to put another ignitor if the board is going to blow it again.Thanks

antlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud vs Trane peter_holmes HVAC 23 07-28-2010 02:32 PM
Need some friendly advice-- Coleman/York v. Trane biggerdaddynj HVAC 3 05-09-2010 10:46 AM
new install of Trane XL15i nind HVAC 32 01-30-2010 12:59 PM
Humid - Switched Trane xl1200 AC for a Payne HP - now very Humid dagrappler HVAC 1 06-11-2007 12:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.